PDA

View Full Version : not so smart intellimouse



Kira
06-02-2003, 11:09 AM
Here's the deal.
Via mvp4 board with cyrix pr333 chip, everything running sweet.(slow but sweet). Replace afforementioned chip with Amd k6-2 450. Now usb intellimouse refuses to work. Shows up as unknown usb device. Mouse has been tested ok on another system. Usb ok because scanner still works. What should I be looking for here? Everything else works fine .(quicker as well). As an aside the bios password got messed up as well so had to clear cmos with util dont know if theres a connection.
Also usb is onboard. Any ideas greatly appreciated.

nz_liam
06-02-2003, 01:25 PM
That defiantly seems strange, what OS are you running there?

I would also grab a copy of the latest IntelliMouse software, and if possible flash the BIOS with an updated version (if possible).


Cheers

Liam

nz_liam
06-02-2003, 01:30 PM
You can grab the latset IntelliPoint software here (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=4f1c2ece-3a77-482c-b183-0bc8b8297c72&DisplayLang=en) or click here (http://download.microsoft.com/download/wirelesswheelmouse/Install/4.1/W98NT42KMeXP/EN-US/ip4_1engallmsi.exe) to start the english version download.


Cheers

Liam

tweak\'e
06-02-2003, 03:24 PM
there is also a patch for USB with amd chips here (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;en-us;q240075) you could try.