PDA

View Full Version : Jetsart



floyds
05-02-2003, 12:06 PM
I'm looking at getting jetstart, how do people find it performance wise and is it easy to install.

whats a good adsl modem, whats better internal or external?

what about filters, is it better getting the telcom guy round or just the ones from dick smiths.

any other related info would be great as well.

thanx in advance
floyd

Chilling_Silence
05-02-2003, 12:28 PM
Im not too sure about all this, but Im wanting to get it soon myselt (JetStart) so I'll be keeping an eye on this thread.

> whats a good adsl modem, whats better internal or
> external?

I would say External, as on the odd occasion when you do have to reconnect, you wont have to reboot your entire PC if its external.
Also, you can get routers which are great for having your mates over, just plug them in and they're surfing in minutes :-)

I could be wrong, but nobody else had responded yet. This is something Im gonna need to learn soon anyway ;-)

Cheers


Chilling_Silence

godfather
05-02-2003, 12:35 PM
Re filters, it depends on your wiring setup.

If you can fit a plug-in filter to every phone device then you can do it yourself. The ADSL modem itself uses the "unfiltered" line.

The filters are about $20 each. If its going to be dearer than the Telecom install, go with the full install.

Try to get an external ADSL router/modem (not USB). It means you will have to fit a network card in the PC to connect, but using Network Address Translation in the router (make sure it supports it) firewalls you from people accessing your PC without your knowledge.

I use an Alcatel Speedtouch Pro unit, its very easy to set up, and it connects to my hub so all my PCs have internet access automatically.

Chilling_Silence
05-02-2003, 12:44 PM
So you connect the router/modem to the switch....

What's the difference between a router and an ADSL Modem??

Gorela
05-02-2003, 01:50 PM
An ADSL modem is.............. well, a modem. :p

Purely a means to access an external network via phone lines.

A router permits data transmission between two or more individual networks (or IP address ranges). If you connect two computers together, but have different IP addresses they don't talk, so instead of changing the IP addresses you put a router between them and presto.

Some routers can then have Network Address Translation which enables you to have a private IP address range and a public front. The router pretends to be sending all the packets on say 66.244.80.44 and then any return packets are re-addressed to the original sender on 192.168.0.1.

So the router acts as the PR man for your network. The security aspect is that since your real addresses are different to the public address it is harder to hack your machine. But it has a lot to do as it needs to remember who sent what packets to where!

And I didn't even suggest you RTFM :p

And this is off topic now!

sam m
05-02-2003, 01:55 PM
The installation part is very important.
I live on the edge of the 5km limit but (miserly) decided to go for the filter option. In hindsight I should have got the full instal. I have a small problem in that when I am playing online games and the phone rings I occassionally get disconnected from the net but it does comes back a few seconds later. Also if you have more than 3 or 4 phones, Sky digital and/or monitored alarm system then again it would be advisable to get the full instal. Saves a lot of hassel in the long run.
If you only have a couple of phones and are close to the exchange then filters would be ok.

sam m

Kame
05-02-2003, 02:15 PM
The price for getting the wiring done by a Telco guy is $250. The cost for just the connection is $99 and you do the filtering with your own filters.

I'd suggest if you have to use filters for more than 3 devices you are better off getting a Telco guy in to do the wiring. I believe performance wise it's better this way.

External ethernet router modems are better and cost more than Internal/USB. If you live outside the recommended distance for DSL you have to get external because internal's reaching distance is average.

Your ISP expects you to pay in advance but Telecom's charges come at the end of the month with your latest phone bill. Depending on your ISP it's usually $30 during the month and $30 end of the month for your Internet, which some people don't realise since they think $60 a month is pretty steep.

floyds
05-02-2003, 06:15 PM
thanx guys

whats the performance like, good constant download speeds and overall no hassles?

nz_liam
05-02-2003, 06:34 PM
RE the NAT routers, do they allow you to run http/ftp (etc) servers on you network, I would assume that because the way NAT works this wouldn’t be possible?

Does anyone run http/ftp server through a NAT enabled router?


Cheers

Liam

wuppo
05-02-2003, 09:04 PM
Yes, you 'pinhole' a port through the router to a specific local IP address. So, e.g. port 80 packets addressed to your external IP get directed to 192.168.30.127.

Big John
06-02-2003, 07:48 AM
> I'd suggest if you have to use filters for more than
> 3 devices you are better off getting a Telco guy in
> to do the wiring. I believe performance wise it's
> better this way.

Depends. I only have a filter on mine but the noise even with the filter is something terrible. Also when the phone rings it affects the router (Dynalink RTA210) so that it causes CRC errors and locks up.

Currently am getting a Vigor 2600 Modem/Router sent over from The Netherlands to try out.

Think I will also get my line split properly to get rid of the noise.

John H
06-02-2003, 10:19 AM
I got on to a deal early on where Nokia sold a modem with free installation and as many filters as needed. That was bundled with a Telecom deal for free connection. So I do not have any knowledge of how easy it is to install.

However, I have no problems with noise as reported by Big John with this kind of set up. The modem is on one unfiltered line, and then their are lines filtered for one fax and phone, and two other phones, so three filters and no probs.

There is a tool on Telecom's web site that enables you to test your phone line to see what sort of performance you are likely to get from a Jetstream connection. Go to:
www.telecom.co.nz/content/0,3900,200376-200840,00.html] (http//:[url)

Personally, I get great performance out of JetStart. Very stable now, since Telecom seems to have ironed out a lot of the teething problems. I never get any interference on the phone or fax. Sometimes I seem to get JetStream speeds - not sure what happens but occasionally a download will come screaming down the pipe as though the speed has not been capped. Not sure why it happens.

Sorry I can't help with the installation question because it was done for me. But you got sound advice from the earlier responses on the other questions. If you get it, you won't consider going back to dial up... I am now trying to talk myself into cranking up the speed to JetStream...

John H

John H
06-02-2003, 10:21 AM
OT - can someone please tell me what I have done wrong in the formatting of the url in the preceding message? I can't get it to change into a hyperlink - thought I had followed the Help instructions, but obviously I have got it wrong and I can't see where.

Thanks
John

John H
06-02-2003, 10:28 AM
Oh dear, not my morning. In my post I should have said;

"The modem is on one unfiltered wall outlet, and then there are filters on one outlet shared by a fax and phone, and two more outlets for other phones, so a total of three filters and no probs."

There is obviously only one line.

Sorry.

wuppo
06-02-2003, 10:32 AM
You need to end the URL statement with a [/url]
Any text between the opening url= and closing /url becomes the link

John H
06-02-2003, 11:03 AM
Thanks wuppo. So it should be:
here (http://www.telecom.co.nz/content/0,3900,200376-200840,00.html)

According to the preview, success at last! Thanks.

John

nz_liam
06-02-2003, 11:16 AM
> Thanks wuppo. So it should be:
> here (http://www.telecom.co.nz/content/0,3900,200376-20
> 840,00.html)
>
> According to the preview, success at last! Thanks.
>
> John

Or you can just type the hyperlink as it appears, with no ‘’ tags.

e.g. http//:[url]www.telecom.co.nz/content/0,3900,200376-200840,00.html (][/url)

nz_liam
06-02-2003, 11:17 AM
Hmm that didnt work, lets try again Or you can just type the hyperlink as it appears, with no tags.

e.g. http//:[url]www.telecom.co.nz/content/0,3900,200376-200840,00.html (][/url)

nz_liam
06-02-2003, 11:18 AM
Ok, one more try;

Or you can just type the hyperlink as it appears, with no url tags.
e.g. http//:www.telecom.co.nz/content/0,3900,200376-200840,00.html

nz_liam
06-02-2003, 11:22 AM
Well you used to be able to type in http://www.xyz123.com and have it turned into a hyperlink, I guess they’ve changed it now :(

nz_liam
06-02-2003, 11:27 AM
:8}:8}:8} the ':' was in the wrong place, http//:www.telecom.co.nz/content/0,3900,200376-200840,00.html should have read http://www.telecom.co.nz/content/0,3900,200376-200840,00.html :8}:8}:8}

John H
06-02-2003, 11:34 AM
Wow, all these messages since I last looked. Yes, you are right, part of my problem was that I put the ':' in the wrong place, which messed everything up for you as well as me. Sorry for causing such a mess.

Hangs head in shame. Such a klutz. Nobody loves me, everybody hates me, I'm going down the garden to eat some worms.... mumble mumble...

John H

nz_liam
06-02-2003, 11:52 AM
Mmmm worms, that reminds me, I'm hungry *Leaves the PC to fetch food :D

Jim B
06-02-2003, 11:52 AM
That link goes to Jetstream Home, this is the full speed Jetstream for home use and is not Jetstart

The Jetstart link called Jetstream Starter is Here ( http://www.telecom.co.nz/content/0,3900,200346-200557,00.html)

John H
06-02-2003, 12:14 PM
In the original post, the question was asked about performance. My link was not meant to answer general questions about JetStart as you have assumed, but to direct him to the Telecom page that tells you whether you can actually access JetStream packages on your phone line and what the performance is likely to be.

Greg S
06-02-2003, 12:53 PM
Regarding reliability, you should always expect some performance issues. However the closer you are to the exchange the better things will be. Do a speed test on Telecom's site - if you get a result of 5Mb/s and up you'll be sweet.

I've heard of others too that get disconnected when the phone rings, if they're on the periphery of the exchange limit.

Using filters is easy, low cost and works fantastic, again better if you're closer to the exchange.

Careful of external modems/routers - several people I know have had significant problems with the pinholing to get their connection to work for online gaming.

nz_liam
06-02-2003, 01:06 PM
> Careful of external modems/routers - several people I
> know have had significant problems with the pinholing
> to get their connection to work for online gaming.

:O:O:O Were those problems with them running a game server and hosting matches? Or just problems connection to other game servers (which I though would work ok fine with NAT)?

Greg S
06-02-2003, 03:15 PM
*lol*

Connecting to other game servers were the issues. By 'several' I actually meant two.