PDA

View Full Version : P3 or Athlon



asdex
15-01-2003, 12:27 PM
Hi I have a Celeron 533 and Gigabyte GA-6VXE7+ MB. To upgrade I could for the same price, go for a P3 1GHz($320) in the MB or new MB($150) and Athlon XP 2GHz ($185) Which would be best for running Graphics and games like Close Combat 5, flight sims, and space sims? I have 196mb Ram and 64mb graphics card.
Thanks,
asdex

agent
15-01-2003, 12:31 PM
I'd probably go for the new mobo and faster processor, on one condition - that I knew my current hardware would run fine with the new hardware.
Generally speaking, a faster processor will be better, but don't always be fooled by the Athlon XP CPUs. Even though it says 2000+, the actual speed it runs at is not 2GHz, it is just designed to run equivalent to that speed under Windows XP.
However, that said, the Athlon XP would surpass a Pentium 3 1GHz, so the better option would be to get the new mobo and AMD CPU.

crozier
15-01-2003, 01:31 PM
Definately the Athlon - no contest!

Chilling_Silence
15-01-2003, 01:44 PM
Im 100% with crozier...
If you're graphics card is keeping up - then you'll be peachy :)

kiwibeat
15-01-2003, 01:49 PM
AMD is best but you will need some ddr ram as well

Chilling_Silence
15-01-2003, 01:59 PM
Not neccesarily.. For extra speed, then DDR-RAM is best!

However, My mobo supports both SD-RAM and DDR-RAM... However, both cannot be used at the same time - One or the other :)

roofus
15-01-2003, 02:04 PM
its $185 just for the AMD CPU though, you will need another motherboard to go with it, but its still gonna work out to be about the same as a new m/board and cpu for your P3

so yea go AMD

asdex
15-01-2003, 10:38 PM
Thanks all, looks like the AMD alright
asdex