PDA

View Full Version : linux mandrake9.0

orcha
09-01-2003, 06:17 PM
Hi I have just installed mandeake 9.0 and everything ran smoothly and worked except you guessed it my modem. I have choosen the right port but still get no response from modem.
My modem is a dick smith XH1154 and comes with linux drivers but trouble is being a linux newbie I can,t work out how to install the drivers.
Can anyone help?
Thanks.

Graham L
09-01-2003, 06:23 PM
Did the DSE drivers come on a CD? Put it in, and click on the CD icon to mount it. Browse for a Linux directory. The file you need probably be .RPM type, but there will probably be a Readme text file to read, too (so read it ;-)). Right-clicking on the appropriate RPM (compressed package) file should give you an "install" option. You will have to be logged in as root to do that.

orcha
09-01-2003, 09:37 PM
thanks graham the drivers are on the cd I will try that . Am I right in saying that if the modem is on com4 under windows it is on ttyS3 under linux?

E.ric
09-01-2003, 10:37 PM
copy and paste from DSE website,

DSE Modem 56K - PCI Int HaM v2
The DSE Internal PCI 56K Modem uses a new Intel chipset with Host Accelerated Modem (HaM) technology to deliver superior performance - compatible with both Windows & Linux - supports V.92!
Cat No. XH1154
NZ$68

Good to see it is not a WIN MODEM
I had a 33K standard modem, as I went to 56K and was giving linux a bit more interext , got a 56K external one, they say external ones are more reliable sorry I can not help more, but linux picked up the internal one OK.

Chilling_Silence
10-01-2003, 08:48 AM
> Am I right in saying that if the modem is on
> com4 under windows it is on ttyS3 under linux?

Yes, in Linux, the com ports start a ttyS0 with that being com 1!

orcha
10-01-2003, 09:58 PM
Right i,ve now got this far .
I've extracted the file to a directory it was a .tgz file
Then I logged in as root
Then I cd to the directory the driver was in
Then I typed make clean
Then I typed make 536ep