PDA

View Full Version : graphics cards



geeharley
05-01-2003, 10:15 PM
hoping someone can help me......i am having to upgrade my graphics card as my existing one (Intel(r) 82810E i think) only has 5mb and is not up to the gaming tasks i have for it.

my main questions are;

how grunty do i have to go...32mb? 64? 128?
is it something i can install?
and how much am i gonna be in for.

My system is not very old intel p3 1ghz processor with 256ram and 40gb hd.

I would really appreciate any help on this and please bear in mind that i dont know what im talking about :-). I have a rough idea but the finer points escape me.

THANK YOU!

robsonde
05-01-2003, 10:21 PM
as always with computer stuff "the bigest you can afford"

64Mb would be the minimum as far as i am concerned.

as long as you have got an AGP slot then install is an easy job.

follow the steps below.

1. uninstall the currnet graphics card drivers (from device manager)
2. shut down the system.
3. open up the box
4. remove old card.
5. install new card in to the AGP slot.
6. replace the case.
7. boot up and install the new drivers.


as for cost $200 - $600 depending on how much you want to spend.
and always shop around!

promethius
05-01-2003, 10:27 PM
If you want good quality, "cheap" graphics cards, or just about any computer hardware I recommend www.pp.co.nz, take a look (under video cards).

promethius
05-01-2003, 10:30 PM
You could buy the "Leadtek Quadro4 900 XGL 128MB AGP Video Card" for $2398.....lol.

godfather
05-01-2003, 10:44 PM
Your "Intel 810" is not a Card, its included in the on-board chipset, on the motherboard. The "5 Mb" may be part of your system RAM

Firstly you need to ascertain IF your motherboard can take an AGP card, it may not even have a slot available.

If there is no AGP slot, you will have to settle for a 32 Mb PCI card, again assuming it will accept a card at all. (Most will, a few won't)

Danger
06-01-2003, 12:29 AM
Yeah, you really need to look at your motherboard and see what it will support. Been down this road myself just recently and ended up building up a complete case! If your motherboard does not support AGP 4x at least you will need to upgrade that for a start. At the same time I upgraded my MB I thought I would get one to support Pentium 4,s, as P3's dont go much over 1.2g, then because I wanted P4 I needed a better psu (power supply unit) up from 250 to 300 volts. These were cheaper bought preinstalled in a case than buy stand alone. Also my new motherboard required a different sort of memory ram. See where this can all lead? Before you know it your spending all day networking your old computer to your new one, with half of Press F1 helping. Heh heh, least now my graphics card plays awesome games. (Ge Force Ti 4200) And my P3 800 was only 2 years old! Plenty powerful enough really, just didn't support any good graphics cards.

daninjapan
06-01-2003, 02:32 AM
don't go for an expensive card - it won't get used to full potential on your system.

go for nVidia seeing as they dominate the market.

www.oemcomputers.co.nz

www.hotchips.co.nz

good places to orders from.

dan

roofus
06-01-2003, 07:33 AM
In your case, if infact you can support AGP 4x
Then you would probably got for a Geforce 440MX
they are cheap and do the job. They aren't the fastest things around but they will get you to 800x600 or 1024x768 in games with decent frame rates

kiwibeat
06-01-2003, 08:58 AM
Assuming you have a AGP slot make sure you get at the minimum 32 meg ddr ram card I had a GeForce 256 card and its was very good for 95% of the games out there thopugh the latest ones require something like a GTS pro or GeForce 3 plus these days IE 1942 Unreal tournament 2003 etc

promethius
07-01-2003, 11:13 AM
I use my TNT2 (64mb), to play ut2003........640 x 480, can't play BF1942 though.....no hardware t+l...