PDA

View Full Version : Hyundai Monitor cord



M@TT
05-01-2003, 10:08 PM
Hi, I have Hyundai HL-5854B monitor that was manufactured in 1999. I am missing the male-to-male Data cord that came with it. When i went to buy a new one I was told that Hyundai have special Data cords for there monitors that are hard to come by.
Is this true? and if so does anyone have any idea where to get one, I cant even find their web site for their computer/electronics side.

any help would be apreciated.

robsonde
05-01-2003, 10:15 PM
I have never herd of a "special" cord for Hyundai.

I would just try a standard cord. (might cost $20)

I would be supprise if it does not work. i would be shock it if caused any damage by getting it wrong.

M@TT
06-01-2003, 08:05 AM
Hi, I will give it a try but the guy in the shop said it had to have a special one, didn't give a reason, maybe he was trying to rip me off.

Graham L
06-01-2003, 03:28 PM
"Special", "hard to get" mean "I haven't got one in my shop".

It might be special ... probably a 9 pin DB to HD 15 pin DB cable. :D

If you can't find one, you can get the connectors to make an adaptor for a standard 15HD to 15HD cable. (It's best to make a very short adapter cable because a longer one can harmfully affect your picture if you don't use the right cable.) I think the Dick Smith catalogue had the connections list in its data section, though it doesn't seem to be in the on-line version. Maybe it was in an older catalogue ;-) but it will be easy to find withb Google.

Terry Porritt
06-01-2003, 03:42 PM
Just adding to Grahams comments, the Hyundai is quite a good monitor, so it deserves a good quality VGA cable. There are some very cheap thin unscreened 15 pin to 15 pin cables around. These will be next to useless, get the much thicker fully screened variety.

M@TT
06-01-2003, 04:54 PM
Hi guys, Thanks for your help so far but could anyone tell me if there is a difference between svga and vga, I have just tried a SVGA hi res HDE 15 M to HDE 15 M 2meter cable that didnt work, all got was moving coloured lines-looked very pretty but it didnt work.

Graham L
06-01-2003, 05:12 PM
There is no real difference between VGA and SVGA (except SVGA is "Super" :D).

Ahem, maybe Hyundai have been clever in the cable department. :-(
Have a look at http://www.monitorworld.com/Monitors/hyundai/ which might have information. They give a link for Hyundai: http://www.hea.com/

Terry Porritt
06-01-2003, 06:00 PM
Have a look here:

http://www.abmelec.com.au/Hyundaiserve/not.asp

It says at the bottom you DO need to use a Hyundai cable, so presumably they have transposed the standard vga connections, not very nice of them :(

M@TT
06-01-2003, 07:24 PM
Hi
Yip its official, Hyundai are Nasty ]:) and have decided to make specialised cords:_| Thanks for all your help and if you know anywhere i can find one of the cords or the even the type of cord I will be very grateful :D

Terry Porritt
06-01-2003, 08:13 PM
Well, I tried to find the pin-outs for the Hyundai vga cable with a view to modifying a standard vga cable, but no luck.
What I suggest is to contact Mathew or Wayne at Monitor and Terminal and see what they could suggest.

http://www.monitor.co.nz/contacts.htm

If they have the pin data they may be able to make up a cable, or may just happen to have one in stock.

M@TT
07-01-2003, 02:27 PM
Hi
Iv e-mailed those guys and waitng for a reply. In the meantime I found a web site that say this monitor has this Data for the "Input video Signal":

Input Signal
-------------------------
Video R.G.B. Analog

Sync H.V. separate

and after that it has this:

Input Connector
------------------------
Standard 15 pin D-sub


Does any of this make sense to you guys?

godfather
07-01-2003, 02:59 PM
It could describe a standard SVGA cable.

Are you confident that this monitor actually goes?
When you had the funny lines, were you driving the monitor within its refresh rate and scan settings, as what you described could be an overdriven monitor.

You did have the Hyundai driver loaded? (that would limit the settings to those the monitor was capable of)

M@TT
07-01-2003, 06:49 PM
Hi
I am about 99% sure this monitor goes, I havnt used it myself but it was going really well when last used about 3 months ago.
As for the driver, no I havnt tried the driver, I will try that. Im prerry sure the refresh rate is fine as the monitor i was last using was pretty old and had a pretty low refresh rate and this hyundai one is supposed to go up to 85hz.
The other thing is most people tell me this monitor uses a "non-standard" cord. I used a standard SVGA High Res cord. So that seems to be the outstanding problem.

godfather
07-01-2003, 08:03 PM
Some Hyundai monitors had different synch arrangements but nothing on the web positively associates this with your model. Many listings for Linux settings for your model suggest its more a common type actually.

Where the synch is different an adapter (actually a special video card is suggested) is needed, not just a cable. If indeed it just needed a special cable, one would have expected to find more specific information on the web. Its possible that IF its different its more than just a cable therefore.

Where did the original cable go? The previous history might give a clue?

M@TT
07-01-2003, 10:12 PM
Oh dear this is getting complicated.
I have no idea where the cable went, It was lost in all the transition, I will have to ask the previous owner, All the companies I have corresponded with and web sites i have viewed haven't mentioned a card. I have never heard of needing a card for a monitor though. Why would this be needed?

godfather
07-01-2003, 10:33 PM
Not your model, but below has some clues. They also stated that a Hyundai monitor may require different synch pulses that their card or an adapter would provide. (I have a sneaking suspicion thats an Apple/PC early problem)

Search on Hyundai monitor cable on Google. This was 6 down from the top

The HYUNDAI HCM-438E monitor will not operate like a normal VGA monitor with your video card.
You must set your video card to output the correct resolution and frequencies.
Even if you can configure your card properly the monitor will only display in windows at certain resolutions, .
Our video cards are designed to make this monitor work normally on a PC.

M@TT
10-01-2003, 10:46 AM
Hi
Thanks guys for all your help.
I have managed to get a cable via the loot magazine. This is a conclusion to what i found out:

- Hyundai do make a specialised cable but do not mark the cable with their brand or anything to say its a special hyundai cable.

- The cable looks like any other cable but any other cable wont work

- The cables are not readily avaliable but several places can get them from the factory

Not a satisfying conclusion but it will do
thanks for all you help:)