PDA

View Full Version : XP can't make a dial up connection with the wizard.



tweak\'e
03-01-2003, 08:53 PM
XP pro and it seems to have the modem part all blanked out, ie you can only make lan/cable internet connectios. it had a dail up connection before which has been wiped (unfortunatly). modem, just some crappy internal modem with XP default drivers. was all working ok but owner whishes to connect to new isp. ideas people ??

Jim B
03-01-2003, 09:44 PM
This can be really frustrating as there is no way to set up a Dialup connetion unless you can select this option in the wizard.
To have a bug like this in XP is quite pathetic.
MS have info about this Here ( http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;q320558) but I believe in most cases it does not fix the problem.

You may have to reinstall XP to get this option back again

tweak\'e
07-01-2003, 08:55 PM
thx Jim B but unfortunatly the MS fix didn't work. what makes this a real pain is the previous "tech" upgraded the persons XP home to XP pro (pirate ver) and the home ver won't install over the top of the pro ver. :(

BIFF
08-01-2003, 04:14 PM
The can occur when certain Remote Access and other related Services are disabled. Check to see if any obvious ones are not started.