PDA

View Full Version : Freecell won't run



DaveMac
01-01-2003, 10:12 AM
If I try to run freecell, it comes up with "Freecell has caused a gpf in cards.dll"
Ive tried removing and reloading MS games...still the same.
Tried extracting freecell.exe and cards.dll....no go.
This is really desperate stuff, as its the wifes favourite card game!!!!
Any suggestions please.

Peter Cox
01-01-2003, 10:55 AM
Hi Dave, happy new-year, if you are running win98 or ME and have Office XP installed try this MS known error.
http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q304/4/02.ASP?

HTH PC

DaveMac
01-01-2003, 12:35 PM
And a Happy New Year to you Peter.
I'm running 98SE, no Office programs installed.
Looked at that article, but the program they mention (ctfmon.exe) is not present. Thanks for the suggestion though.

Peter H
01-01-2003, 01:53 PM
What have you installed recently? It is fairly well known that some progs overwrite the dll's. Had the same problem about 2 years ago, and from memory, they only came back after a reformat etc. A bit drastic - maybe do a search on google for another version.
Bye

Jen C
01-01-2003, 09:15 PM
Do you have Nortons CleanSweep installed? If not, ignore the rest of this post: :-)

If you do, use CTL-ALT-DEL to bring up the background programs and shutdown CSINJECT. Try opening FreeCell again and see if it now works.

The CleanSweep program has also been implicated in cards.dll errors.

DaveMac
02-01-2003, 10:17 AM
Hi Peter
Nothiing's worked so far, so I think your suggestion may be the one!
Thanks
Dave

DaveMac
02-01-2003, 10:20 AM
Tried this, even un-installed CS (still no go) and then re-installed.
Thanks for the suggestion Jen

robsonde
02-01-2003, 10:25 AM
yahoo messanger or other messanger type programs are knowen to cause this problem.