PDA

View Full Version : Problem with IE/ADSL/always-on internet etc...



tango
24-12-2002, 03:17 PM
When I come to use my copmuter after a while of not touching it, Internet Explorer won't do anything, it just says "cannot connect to server" etc type errors. I can do everything else, such as log into MSN Messenger, Kazaa, play games, but no IE. After rebooting it all works fine though. I use an Alcatel SpeedTouch Pro router, which is going through a switch. I'm guessing it's something in IE's settings. any help is sweet :)

godfather
24-12-2002, 03:25 PM
Certainly doesn't happen with me (IE6, ADSL via Speedtouch Pro on an ethernet hub)

So...what are your settings?

(IE - Tools - Internet Options - Connections)

Mine are:

Set for "Never dial a connection"

"Lan Settings" have nothing ticked

cyberchuck
25-12-2002, 06:27 PM
Hey

Have you actually told Windows to use it as a gateway, or do you just hope that Windows scans your network looking for a computer/thing it can use to gain internet access off??

(I do know that Windows has the potential to do that... - just don't ask)

Because, if you tell Windows to use it as a gateway, then you should be fine as rain :p - just tell IE never to dial a connection...

However, if the router is told to be the gateway in Windows, then it could be a bad configuration (maybe in the DHCP config. if you use a DHCP server)



CyberChuck