PDA

View Full Version : Virtual Memory



ThumbFinger
18-12-2002, 05:11 PM
I'm trying to change my virtual memory settings in Windows 98, upon getting a new hard drive, to try and speed up my machine. Every time I try and change it to 200MB Virtual memory (200MB min & max), every time I close the dialog box and open it up again, it has rechecked "Let windows handle my virtual memory. Anybody know a way around this?

tweak\'e
18-12-2002, 07:09 PM
don't set a max. its very easy to use 600 meg or more memory. just set a minimum. when you reboot it will look like its set to "Let windows handle my virtual memory". thats ok.

what OS and how much ram do you have ?

if you really get stuck there is another way to set the virtual memory.

bmason
18-12-2002, 08:28 PM
This is probably a dumb question but you are rebooting after closing the dialog so it can take affect?

Also I agree with tweak'e: leave the max unset windows apps don't handle running out of memory very well and will give some misleading error messages.