PDA

View Full Version : 286



johnboy
10-12-2002, 10:12 AM
i've got this old 286 which has been working good up to yesterday . when its turned on now only the monitor light comes on and theres only a blank screen theres no lights on the hard drive pressing reset does nothing , could someone tell me where the fuse is hidden thanks

SKT174
10-12-2002, 10:14 AM
fuse should be inside the AT PSU :)

johnboy
10-12-2002, 10:27 AM
wheres that theres two boxes inside one in front one at back..
thanks ;)

SKT174
10-12-2002, 10:48 AM
The PSU should locate at the back of the Case that looks like a silver box where the power cord plugs into it :)

johnboy
10-12-2002, 11:07 AM
thanks

TheBOKE
10-12-2002, 11:11 AM
BAAAAHAHHHAHHHAHHAHAHHAHA YOU HAVE A 286

Chilling_Silence
10-12-2002, 11:19 AM
> BAAAAHAHHHAHHHAHHAHAHHAHA YOU HAVE A 286


Hey.. I dont think that was called for. I learned to use M$ compatible PC's on a 286... I started with the OS Toybox 2 (Shareware and still available!).

If I remember rightly, johnboy said nothing abut it being the PC he's currently surfing on.

I've just built an AMD Athlon XP 1700+, but I still use a 300Mhz, which is the same idea.. but I'm using it for testing stuff.

Dont diss the 286 man! Those things are legendary! Mine had a 20MB HDD that I could doublespace to 40MB and that rocked to me!

Anyways, keep it cool man.

Cheers


Chilling_Silence

Billy T
10-12-2002, 01:53 PM
Don't just assume the PSU is dead just because there is no action.

Does the PSU fan start up? If it doesn't then there is a fair chance that the PSU has died, especially if it is original.

Ordinarily I'd ask if the CPU fan started as well, but a 286 takes 17 months to fry an egg so cooling fans were not a requirement :D

Cheers

Billy 8-{) :D

bmason
10-12-2002, 02:20 PM
> Ordinarily I'd ask if the CPU fan started as well,
> but a 286 takes 17 months to fry an egg so cooling
> fans were not a requirement :D

I've got a 286 toshiba laptop that runs hot enough, the only problem is the heat isn't concentrated at the processor. But its screen would do a great job.

johnboy
10-12-2002, 02:28 PM
thanks.. there is no thing going just the light on the moniter..everything is plugged in tight ..i have,nt a clue just presumed it was the fuse..

p.s it's just a spare in the bedroom the original owner had it in his wardrobe for about 3 years before he gave it to us..but she was chugging along good up to now it must have been a rolls royce in her time..

SKT174
10-12-2002, 02:44 PM
an AT286 back in those days would have cost you at least $8000 + :D

Graham L
10-12-2002, 03:55 PM
There is usually a fuse in the power supply. You can remove it with a bit of unpluggery, and taking out the four screws on the back. NOT the screws which hold the fan inside the PSU. ;-). Then there will be some more screws to remove to get the cover off the supply.

Be careful ... there can be lots of DC volts in there. It'll probably be a 3 or 4 amp 3AG (glass tube) fuse.

But the fuse shouldn't blow ... those supplies normally just shut down if they overheat, but the fuse will blow if the main capacitor goes short or the bridge rectifier misbehaves.

I don't think it's the fan, because you say there is nothing at all at starting. A stopped fan will take a while to shut down the PSU.

Billy T
10-12-2002, 08:15 PM
Graham

The point about the PSU fan is quite straightforward. Whether 230 volt or 12 volt powered, if it isn't running the power supply isn't going, ergo: the fuse might be blown.

For a non-technical type trying to sort out a problem, simple indicators can be useful.

Cheers

Billy 8-{) :D

johnboy
11-12-2002, 10:14 AM
thanks for the help re finding fuse it's blown thanks again..