PDA

View Full Version : Modem



jonzeeboy
23-11-2002, 05:37 AM
Yes. I what to upgrade to jet-stream.
I have a pen III ,Running XP pro,My modem is a Lucent win modem (Internal). Maximum port speed 115200.
Some one told me I need to buy a Dynalink ADSL Router RTA210 (Teleprint).

Do I buy a external modem,
Can I leave my old there,
can I use ether modem,
What ports do I need,
can I fit it my self.
etc,etc,

Trevor (New Zealand).

Capt Jimbo
23-11-2002, 09:06 AM
There are many options other than just a RTA210 router that you can use.
(Although I use one and I think it's very good)
Yes you can leave your old modem in place.
Yes you can use either but you will probably be sigened up with your ISP for one service or the other.
Either ADSL or dial up. Not both.
Installing the router is quite simple. (I can help if you get stuck as I'm not far away)

Capt Jimbo

godfather
23-11-2002, 11:36 AM
I would recommend an external router, ethernet connected (you may need a network card if you have not already got one, but they are cheap)

There is always an issue with security with an internal ADSL modem, you will need to run a correctly configured firewall in that case.

With Xtra, I retain my dial-up ability but it costs $2.95 per hour if I use it.
It shares the same e-mail address so its useful for using away from the main PC.