PDA

View Full Version : OT - Memories anyone?



mashimaro
07-11-2002, 04:55 PM
TRS80, ZX81, Spectrum 48, VIC20, Commodore64, Apple II, II+, IIe, IBM XT (u loved that 8088 chip eh? :P), Amiga500...and Mac classic? If you still have one of these, are they still working? Just curious that's all :D

Most of them only uses tape drives and floppy drive were considered luxury :^O I can still remember MS Windows used to be able to fit on to a single 5.25" floppy disk 8O, flatbed scanners were only for pros so average user ended up with so called handheld scanners that u have to move at constant speed otherwise u might have a very long neck .. :P

It brings back lots of good memories :)

Chilling_Silence
07-11-2002, 04:58 PM
Wrote my first prog on a C64. At the age of 6... nearly ten years later, look at me now

I still love the commandline interface, but sometimes, you needs a good sturdy GUI to do your work.

Giana Sisters, games like that. 52 Levels in Giana Sisters, clocked it only 3 times!!!! Hours of work it took too!

CYaBro
07-11-2002, 05:02 PM
Yes, still got 2 ZX Spectrums. Both still go :)

Only problem is most of the games / programs are on tapes and they
don't seem to load too well anymore :(

Also takes ages to load from tapes ?:|

roofus
07-11-2002, 05:12 PM
> Wrote my first prog on a C64. At the age of 6...
> nearly ten years later, look at me now
What was it?

10 Print "I am cool"
20 Goto 10
end

load *&*,8,1

was that how C64 use to go to load the programme or bring up the directory listing?

crozier
07-11-2002, 05:45 PM
Acorn Electron
Amiga 500
Amiga 500+
Amiga1200


Currently Have:
AMiga 500+ with 20mb hard drive
Amiga 600HD
IBM 386 luggable PC, DOS 6.22, Win 3.11

All in perfect working order.

Looking for a _cheap_ Amiga 1200 for my collection!

Chilling_Silence
07-11-2002, 05:48 PM
Text based Chance game... It went something like this:

You're on a go cart heading towards a lake, the brakes are not working...



Then it'd generate a nbumber between 1 and 10. but it wouldnt show what the number was. You got threee tries to guess the number, each time it'd say Higher or Lower and if you succeeded before the third time, you managed to stop before you hit the lake in your go-cart. if you failed, you got wet!

Chilling_Silence
07-11-2002, 05:49 PM
BTW, I'm sure I've still got that disk somewhere. Good old 5 1/4" floppy's never fail ya! :p

What brought this about anyways???

barco
07-11-2002, 05:58 PM
Yep, I played around on an Acorn Atom since 1985. Only had audio casette to record data on otherwise you'd have to meticilously read in code for the game you wanted to play. Needless to say, once coded it was hardly turned off. We used a b&w TV to display the images from it.

Thank goodness for SVGA+!

Loads of good memories.

Chilling_Silence
07-11-2002, 06:21 PM
Nothing but good times with those machines.

I can only ever remember the C64 crashin once on me... coz somebody was jumping up and down next to the main unit and it didnt like it.

Those were the days!

falvrez
07-11-2002, 07:26 PM
> TRS80, ZX81, Spectrum 48, VIC20, Commodore64, Apple II, II+, IIe,
IBM XT (u loved that 8088 chip eh? :P), Amiga500...and Mac classic?

You forgot the Colour Genie...yeah ok it was a TRS 80 spin off, but my first computer. I remember loading in programs from a cassette player, and forever adjusting the azimuth so it wouldn't crap out - frustrating stuff!
Gave it away to a good home long ago though...I expect it's land fill by now.

After that it was a TPG 386sx-20 with 2mb ram at a mere $5,000 - hey a bargain huh.
I remember then the TPG company ringing me to say (before delievery) they were unable to get a 40mb drive and would I mind having a 52meg drive instead...oh I was happy for days! It was the talk of the town...

SoniKalien
07-11-2002, 07:52 PM
last I saw my Vic20 was doing time as a TV remote....

SiK

crozier
07-11-2002, 08:45 PM
yeah... I forgot the TRS80, the first computer I used commercially. Twin 8 inch floppies! What a nasty piece of work those things were. My boss bought a second hand one for $3000 in 1988!

When I was transferred to Sydney we had to print out the days work at 5pm. It was just about finished when we started work at 8am the next day. That is if the paper didn't mis-feed during the night!

Oh no! The nightmares are coming back!!! That's why I forgot the damn machine!!!!!! Where's me pills??!?!?!?!

Sam H
07-11-2002, 09:29 PM
I remember playing Catacombs on our old Compaq Portable III, which we still have I might add.