PDA

View Full Version : himen.sys



forrest44
14-10-2002, 08:58 AM
I am trying to make a boot floppy with extended memory managment. I have transfered himen.sys from my windows directory to the floppy disk and put device=a:\himen.sys in the config.sys filoe on the floppy disk. (I have also done this with emm386.exe) When booting from the floppy disk it just says that himen.sys is missing or corrupted. I am running windows 98 and have also had this problem with windows 95.

What do I do to get himen.sys to load?

Mike
14-10-2002, 09:34 AM
Perhaps you have misspelled himem.sys? Throughout your post you've listed it as himen.sys but it should have an m rather than an n at the end - try correcting your spelling of the file in config.sys and it might work.

Mike.

Clueless
14-10-2002, 10:36 AM
Easy mistake to make..
I used to maske that mistake while sniggering about the name, then it was pointed out to me that it means "High Memory" something to do with loading more memory than the limit some clever donkey thought we would never exeed.
We usually type wharever is closest to words we know exsist.

Terry Porritt
14-10-2002, 12:01 PM
Another tip, check that the device=himem.sys is before the device=emm386.exe line, as himem has to be loaded first.

Cheers