PDA

View Full Version : on or off?

Mandy Fisher
07-10-2002, 10:49 PM
Hi guys,

Like you know I am a computer novice, but I just want your opinion.

I have been turning my computer off when I am not using it (about 4 times a day) but have been told it is better to leave it on standby. (then shutdown at nite) what do you advise???

godfather
07-10-2002, 10:54 PM
If you experience no problems, I would leave it on standby.

It would pay to close all open programs though, as many cause strange effects that seem to be attributable to programs being placed in standby.

Occasionally I find the PC runs slowly after recovering from standby, so I just restart. XP seems much better than earlier operating systems at resuming, I must admit.

Oh look - 2,000 posts. Great, I can retire!

Billy T
07-10-2002, 11:25 PM
Hi God

May I be the first to congratulate you. :)

Actually, to be precise, I think you need 2002. ]:)

Cheers

Billy :D :D :D hhh () () () () ()

mikebartnz
07-10-2002, 11:46 PM
I have always turned my PC off when I have not been using it and have never had a problem. Some say that the heating and cooling stresses the parts but I think the power savings and the lesser wear and tear make it worth while. One poster said that he sometimes finds the PC running slowly after comming out of standby and has to reboot, you might as well turn it off.

E.ric
08-10-2002, 02:54 AM
If the operating system is windows I would say turn it off, The boss leaves the computer on all the time, and it seems every or second day there is a problem that can be cured by resetting the computer, it cheeses me off when you are trying to get work done, Someone told me if you left windows go and did nothing to the computer the system would corrupt itself, I often turn my computer on and off each day and do not have much problem.

Sorry I did not fully answer you question.

Mike
08-10-2002, 09:00 AM
Mandy,