PDA

View Full Version : Nortons Antivirus software

michele
03-10-2002, 11:13 AM
I loaded Nortons Antivirus 2002 via the internet and created the backup disks as instructed. Once my computer had been through the checking process I was told to load the "Basic Rescue Boot" disk to boot it out of DOS. When I did this a message came up:
"Unable to update activity
A:\>"
I tried typing in different things ( remembering I am a computer novice) and it responded "Not ready reading Drive A. Abort, Retry, Fail?"
Then when I tried typing in Retry it said: "Bad command or file name"
Any suggestions of how to extricate myself from this???
Cheers - Michele Andrews

Merlin
03-10-2002, 12:31 PM
Restart the computer as normal - note any problems.

In the future, responses to "Not ready reading Drive A. Abort, Retry, Fail?"
press A for Abort, R for Retry etc.

Heather P
03-10-2002, 06:13 PM
I read "Computer novice" and a: drive so will mention some basic stuff that you may or may not know.

Computer disks have letter names. For historical reasons the 1st hard disk inside your machine is called C:

Extra internal disks (extra hard drives, partioned hard drives, CD ROMs, DVDs etc) and also external zip drives get called D: , E:, F: .... It depends on what order they were installed as to which is called what.

A: and B: are reserved for smaller external drives. Most computers have an A: drive but not B: (again, historical reason)

If the message comes up "unable to read A: Abort, Retry, Fail" it means either the floppy disk isn't in the drive, the floppy disk isn't seated properly in the drive or it's a faulty disk (or less possibly a faulty drive).

Check that the floppy is actually in the drive. If it is eject it then push it back in and try again.

Mandy Fisher
03-10-2002, 11:34 PM
Hi there, just being nosey but wanted to say that I am a novice too and It's great to have simple things explained, alot of this stuff is over my head!

Mike
03-10-2002, 11:40 PM