PDA

View Full Version : Scanner

Lady Coro
26-09-2002, 09:38 PM
Hello I am a newbie. Can anyone reccomend an "easy to use" cheaper scanner to connect to a H P mx50 computer with Windows ME on it?
Thankyou Lady Coro.

Ps I asked Poppa John but he cannot be serious for a minute. LC

fuzzybear
26-09-2002, 10:47 PM
Lady Coro,

Well, yes you must be new to this game - never mind!!

The mx50 is the model number of your Monitor, NOT THE COMPUTER.

You will have got this from the top right hand corner of the screen, or what we call the MONITOR (similar to the TV screen). All Hewlet packard computers come with an associated MONITOR, and I am guessing you have a relatively new machine (within two to three years of age), so your computer will support what we call USB CONNECTIONS to devices like PRINTERS and SCANNERS. I suggest you call the 0800 number that came with the computer (Hewlet packard new zealand ltd), and give them the model number of your COMPUTER, not the MONITOR and ask if your computer supports USB devices, like scanners and printers. If it does, then I suggest to do the following:

The model number of your computer, will be at the front of the machine itself - the box, or the part that you actually touch to turn the computer on. The computer has the disk drive at the front, and has the ON switch and will have an amber light flashing from time to time, with a green light on steady when there is power to the computer. It usually sits under the desk, or somewhere close to the floor.

There is a good little scanner that will do a fine job for $197.00 at Dick smith electronics at present. Check around to get a good price at other computer outlets like Noel Leeming, Bond & Bond, Harvey Norman, etc, but Dick's have this scanner at a good price. It is the CANON D646Uex.

Write this model number down.

Take this info in. I checked the specifications of this scanner, and it does work with windows ME. A good scanner at a good price, and easy to use.