PDA

View Full Version : linux can't connect

loser
20-09-2002, 04:37 PM
I can't connect to paradise when in linux... using the internet dialer in gnome (on the desktop).
i've checked the phone number and the settings that i can think of, checked the username and password.
it dials, does the handshake, says "expecting login", login pops up on the log window and then it says "no carrier".
any help good ta.
got an external serial dynalink, mandrake 8.2

bmason
20-09-2002, 04:46 PM
They use CHAP authentication which is probably the problem.

AFAIK only the KDE dialer supports it (at the interface level anyway).

loser
20-09-2002, 04:52 PM
i'm not really with you. i'm a newbie....
i had it running a while back fine, but then i reformatted, been out of action for a while, and now i can't get it going again. last time i didn't have to do anything, it just worked with default everything.....

bmason
22-09-2002, 05:31 PM
It is trying to use a script based logon where it supplies your user name (login) and password when the remote computer asks for it.

You need to set the authentication type to CHAP. Where the setting is located depends on the dialer your using.

In KPPP it is under account settings, "Dial" tab. There is a drop down list called "Authentication:".

loser
22-09-2002, 05:44 PM
sweet I'll try that. Thanks.

chriswattson
22-09-2002, 06:34 PM
hi loser (tim) can u help me with my advance ac'97 audio driver problem? i uninstalled it now i don't have any sound!! can u help me get it back!!
no one else will help me!!

thanks..
TiM:*)

Rod ger
22-09-2002, 10:15 PM
Hi,
This is a bit late so it probably won't be picked up. I've had the same problem even with CHAP. The log gets to:

LOGIN:
NO CARRIER

At the bottom there is a dialog "Expecting word"
Hope someone can help.

bmason
22-09-2002, 10:38 PM
I think that means its still trying to use script based authentication rather than CHAP or PAP.

Rod ger
22-09-2002, 11:04 PM
Hi Brett,