PDA

View Full Version : Hard Drive backup

Rod ger
14-09-2002, 10:43 PM
I'm a newbie to CDRW and want to backup my C:\ drive. Its under 950megs so I figure with a bit of a cleanup and compression I should be able to get it on one CD. I'm running Nero but am not totally familiar with it.

I can see lots of reasons that burning a zipped image would not work on a new HD after the present drive had failed. ie Do I have to reinstall Win98 and Winzip to access the backup? Will the backup overwrite the newly installed OS to restore my highly tuned system and eliminate unneeded files? I would prefer not to have to buy software if possible.

I have done a search on the old files but wasn't able to find quite the right answer.

Eraser
14-09-2002, 11:19 PM
Hi.

August CD Rom off NZPC World mag has a bunch of back up utils :)

Make life easy for you.

Chow

Peter H
15-09-2002, 08:22 AM
I use Nero "HD Backup" BUT - this backs up the entire HD, not just the files. I believe both Drive Image & Ghost are similar but use data compression. My C partition is 2.4gb and fits on 4 cd's, so unless you partition your HD - not knowing what size you have - you will need lots of cdr's. You can use the back-ups to revert to a stable system and if your HD fails, they will install on a new one - with provisos. The Nero help file is worth a read.
Bye

Rod ger
15-09-2002, 10:15 AM
Thanks Peter H,
Yes I have a 1.6 Gig HD( only just enough spare space for a full CDs worth.)

How reliable is the backup, have you used it? The provisions sound a bit dire!

Peter H
15-09-2002, 10:27 AM