PDA

View Full Version : Will GF4 Ti4200 fit??? help



thelaw
11-09-2002, 09:35 PM
hi

Hi I am looking at getting a Gforce4 Ti 4200 soon and was unsure if first, it would fit in my AGP slot. Currently I have a NVIDIA 8mb Vanta (AGP).

And second would it work. (I know it won’t be as fast as a new AGP slot.)

below are my motherboard spec's:

Specifications:
Processor Intel® Pentium® II, Celeron®
Core Logic VIA Apollo Pro133 Chipset + VIA VT82C686A
BIOS Award BIOS v5.41
Max. FSB 100MHz
Memory 3 x SDRAM PC100, 768MB max.
Form Factor ATX, 305mm x 200mm

Expansion Slots:
AGP 1, 1x / 2x
PCI 5, 32-bit
ISA 1, 16-bit
MR 1, AMR

Ports:
PS/2 1 mouse, 1 keyboard.
Serial 2
Parallel 1
USB 2 onboard, 2 optional. USB 1.1
Floppy 2 drives max.
IDE 2 x E/IDE Ultra DMA/66, 4 drives max.

Controllers:
Sound VIA VT82C686A integrated sound

Special Features:
Keyboard Power On (KBPO)
Wake On Lan (WOL)
Hardware Monitoring Function provided by VIA

tweak\'e
11-09-2002, 10:14 PM
what type of cpu and what speed is it?

the odds are that a gf4 ti4200 is going to be total overkill for your system. the system is only run as fast as the slowest part.

it might be better to get a gf2 and save the rest for a new pc.

thelaw
11-09-2002, 10:20 PM
i know but getting new case and slowly upgrading the rest..ie vid card

then put old stuff back into old case once all new commonents are in.(hope in 6 months)

CPU = PIII 450

tweak\'e
11-09-2002, 11:02 PM
with a decent power supply it should work fine. happy upgradeing.

Greg S
12-09-2002, 05:18 PM
Very nice card, specially for the price. Sounds like it should work perfectly (If not I'll buy it from ya at half price :)

kiwibeat
13-09-2002, 12:37 AM
take it in to the shop and try it chances are it wont work on a older mother board though best to upgrade your whole PC 1st

thelaw
22-09-2002, 10:33 PM
Yea i was afrade it may not work with motherboard looks like ill be saving for alot longer then.

thanks.

tweak\'e
22-09-2002, 11:02 PM
???? never heard of them not working with the older boards. some of the very early boards couldn't provide enough power to run high powered cards(geforce256 at the time).