PDA

View Full Version : Is it save to delete.................



Iris
25-08-2002, 10:21 AM
I have Windows 98SE

When I go to "C" clean up disk I have a box with

Temporary Files (amount using) B-)

Recycle Bin ( " " ) B-)

Delete Windows 98SE unistall Info (159.81MB) ?:|

Is it safe to delete the uninstall info. Or is it best left alone. ?:|

Thanks

Iris B-) B-)

duckyduck
25-08-2002, 10:42 AM
It is safe to delete the 98 uninstall. Used to do it myself when I was using 98/98se, no problems encountered.

Iris
25-08-2002, 01:42 PM
Hi "duckyduck"

Thanks for replying.


Iris

dipstick01
25-08-2002, 02:42 PM
From memory the uninstall information is all the information windows saves about your previous installation of windows.

When you install windows over the top of another installation with out wiping your hard drive first windows saves installation number 1 incase you want to go back to it.
If your current installation is nice and stable and what you want then delete away.

Also when you run Disk Cleanup you will notice that when you click on one of the options in the list of items to be cleaned a brief description will appear underneath the options window, this description will generally give you a good idea what it is and whether it can be deleted.

Iris
25-08-2002, 04:07 PM
Thank you dipstick01 for all that info.
Puts my mind at ease. Always wary of deleting things.


Have mentioned this before, now I see your address and you remind me even more of my daughter whose brother refers to her as dipstick. Her address could almost be yours too.


Thanks again

Iris