PDA

View Full Version : Mandrake 8.2

Ashley Matthews
22-08-2002, 08:10 PM
Hi,

I've just bought a copy of Mandrake 8.2. I've finished installing it (this is on my other machine). I'm a linux newbie. Whenever I boot up my computer i come to the boot loader. I can select my Windows 2000 OS -and that works fine. However my problem is that whenever I Boot Linux from the Mandrake Boot Loader it just goes to the command prompt and asks me for my root password. I've tried typing startx and that comes up with an error? What am I doing wrong? How do I make it go to a graphical KDE/GNOME login screen or straight into KDE or Gnome from a text login.

Thanks a bunch.

Please help.

JohnD
22-08-2002, 10:22 PM
Ashley

The first thing is that if you didn't create a non-priveledged user at install you should do so now. Use useradd and passwd commands to create a user for everyday use - you shouldn't use root for this.

It sounds as if your video card is not configured properly or maybe it is not supported? I presume Mandrake is the same as RedHat - at the command prompt type Xconfigurator (watch the capitalisation) and try to reconfigure your card and screen.

If you are successful at this you then need to change your runlevel to go straight into X-windows. Use mcedit to do this - edit the file /etc/inittab. You will find a line like this id:3:initdefault: change the 3 to a 5 and reboot.

Hope this helps
John

Graham L
23-08-2002, 04:30 PM