PDA

View Full Version : CGI Script

Graham Petrie
21-08-2002, 12:17 AM
Hi, I am fairly new to the world of web authoring, but have a good grasp of HTML and I have just started playing with DHTML (So far I have just downloaded other peoples stuff, and worked out hoe to use it - no script writing of my own yet).

I wanted to have a members area on my website. From what I can tell, using a CGI Perl Script is the bizzo, and I have downloaded one that looks good at first glance. I am not exactly sure how these work, but from what I can guess, Perl is a programming language which the script is written in. The script is placed on the server, and when accessed by a client, the server does the processing work to process the script.

Anyway, as far as I can determine, my free orcon account doesn't support this? Could someone else using a free orcon hosting account please confirm this?

Secondly, what are the chances that I could find a free hosting service that would?

Also, any advice on using scripts, or any comments that people ave for a beginner would be more than welcome.

This is your chance to pass on all that useful knowledge with no criteria attached. (Although please try and answer my question first).

Thanks everyone

G P

robsonde
21-08-2002, 12:28 AM
i dont know much about cgi scripts but i do know that ALL web servers people are very tight about what scripts you can use because of security problems with badly writen scripts.

even someone like IHUG will not let a script on to there server with out it getting checked by a staff member.

SoniKalien
21-08-2002, 12:43 AM
OK, since you asked nicely, I will share what I know with you. :D (I'm in a so-so mood 2nite)

>Anyway, as far as I can determine, my free orcon account doesn't support this? Could someone else using a free orcon hosting account please confirm this?

Yes, that is correct. Orcon state it somewhere in their pages. Even Frontpage extensions (sick) are not supported.