PDA

View Full Version : Initialize Hard Drive



Maxx
19-08-2002, 12:25 PM
I have a HP 6327.When I use my system recovery disk it tells me my hard drive is not initialized and to use fdisk.I'm unsure how to do this could someone please guide me,Thanks,Max.

godfather
19-08-2002, 01:00 PM
Perhaps you could explsain why you are using recovery, (what happened to make your disk appear to need initialising) and what version of windows you are using?

Would help for someone to give a more specific answer.

Fdisk is a DOS utility that partitions and initialises the disk, and using it will likely destroy any data on your disk (as will the restore usually)

Maxx
19-08-2002, 03:24 PM
I'm running 98se and am using system recovery as I'm getting bsod and boot problems.I'm not worried that it will format disk.Max.

Chilling_Silence
19-08-2002, 05:25 PM
Check the FAQ on formatting or partitioning using FDIsk
http://pressf1.co.nz/thread.jsp?forum=1&thread=23420&q=FAQ Partition#72065