PDA

View Full Version : Should I be Switched On ???



grandad w
02-08-2002, 05:11 PM
I have recently replaced my “Gateway” monitor with a “Philips 107S” which gives a nice image.

With the “Gateway” after the Computer had shut down, the monitor would run a 30/40 second “System??” check -which revealed a notice about 15cm.x3cm which contained different coloured options checking on the state of the monitor. This would then disappear and the screen would go black. I was not in the habit of turning the power off on the monitor.

With the “Philips” monitor these “Checks” do not appear and I have taken to turning the power off on the monitor. Thinking I was treating my new screen with some TLC.
Now when I turn the monitor on it gives a “Thump!!” sound and occasionally the settings have changed
From True colour (32Bit) 800x600 Pixels To 1044x768 Pixels 256Colours

Should I be turning the monitor of or leaving it on “Stand By”?

Do I need to be Switched ON/off??

Grandad W>

Mike
02-08-2002, 05:15 PM
> Should I be turning the monitor of or leaving it on
> “Stand By”?
> Do I need to be Switched ON/off??

I think it's up to you whether to switch off or not - it'll go into standby much like your Gateway one would have after its self test had completed.

Mike.

godfather
02-08-2002, 05:57 PM
the "thump" is the degaussing coil which de-magnetises the screen.

Look at the specs, see what the standby wattage is. If its only a few watts leave it on, it will go into standby and retain it settings.

Divide the watts by 1,000, multiply by 12 cents and thats the running cost in standby (9 watts/1000 x 12 cents = 0.012c/hour or 0.29 cents per day or $1.05 per year)

robsonde
02-08-2002, 06:57 PM
my math was never that good but should it not be more like.......

9 watts/1000 * 12 cents = 9/1000*0.12 = 0.00108

0.00108= price(dollers) per hour

0.00108 * 24 hours = 0.02592 dollers per day.

0.02592* 365 days per year = 9.4608 dollers per year.

:-) cheep any which way you do the math :-)

godfather
02-08-2002, 07:12 PM
correct! works better if you clear the calculator first!

Of course its less again as it will not be in standby for a year...