PDA

View Full Version : bios password



sonmau
24-07-2002, 09:45 PM
i seem to have a password on my bios, if i clear the cmos data would that get rid of the password, and would it affect my system at all, or is there another way of getting rid of the password..any help greatly appreciated.

Elwin Way
24-07-2002, 09:59 PM
Clearing your cmos may get rid of the password. It will also reset to default settings.

Some computer manufacturers enjoy putting default passwords on the cmos.

Due to security reasons, you will not find many people here willing to tell you exactly how to get rid of the password, or clear the bios.

Razer
26-07-2002, 12:59 AM
I havn't tried clearing the cmos to remove a password but I would imagine it would work. Doing this will only reset it back to its default settings.
Have a look in your MB manual. There is usually a jumper that will reset your cmos data. Your MB manual should also have descriptions of what the various bios settings do.