PDA

View Full Version : Dark and Dingy screen.



mejobloggs
20-07-2002, 06:17 PM
I have a Philips 107s moniter, about 4 years old. Everything seems to be dark on it. We have 2 computers, and the screen isnt dark on the other one.
I am pretty sure its the moniter, so dont worry about telling me to update craphics card driver, because i have done all that.

Can someone please help?

Gigo
20-07-2002, 06:29 PM
On your video card on the dark or light machine are you running a colour profile?

Check by going Control Panel>Display>Settings>Colour Management Tab

Does your monitor reset it's brightness or something..............

vk_dre
20-07-2002, 06:30 PM
i also have a 107S, wot do u mean by "dingy" ?:| if it is dark then just use the buttons on the moniter to change the contrast, that should do it, if not reply back.

cheers,
v.K--------- :D

mejobloggs
20-07-2002, 10:58 PM
nah. I keep the brightness at 100%, and games like, Aqua Nox, Need for Speed high stakes, and a couple of other ones, go so dark that I dunno where i am going.

I used to have the 107s on a computer with these stats:
333mhz
128mb ram
4mb graphics card
windows 95

Everything was dark on that.


Now the 107s is on a computer with these stat, and it is still dark:

Athlon XP 2000
256 DDR 266 Ram
64mb Geforce 2 MX 400
Wimdows XP Pro

As I said, i keep the brightness at 100%

Or could it have anything to do with the colour contrast, or any other moniter settings?

mejobloggs
20-07-2002, 11:06 PM
The computer I am using now does NOT have colour managment.
Do you think that could be it?


My new computer has a new 109s.
I THINK it has a colour managment thing, but i cant look right now.
ps. the new computer is not dark, its perfect.

Billy T
21-07-2002, 12:23 AM
Hi Mej

If you have run that monitor at full brilliance for 4 years you may well have cut out the CRT, especially if you leave it running day & night. It is not a good idea to run at full brightness, better to lower your ambient light levels. Those monitors have excellent brightness range so I suggest you check your contrast setting and if that doesn't help it may be getting old before its time.

You don't say, but did this problem creep up on you slowly, or did it appear suddenly one day?

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Elwin Way
21-07-2002, 01:49 AM
Hi,

I found some games were really dark when my boss upgraded to xp. Under 98 they were fine. Mainly older 3d games. I believe its XP.

mejobloggs
21-07-2002, 01:15 PM
I dont really know if the problem crept up on me.

None of my computers have color management.

Its not XP, because I had the same screen with 95, and it was dark.

I havnt had the brightness at 100 for 4 years, only when i noticed stuff was dark and i couldnt see properly.

And no, its not my eyes

Gigo
21-07-2002, 02:08 PM
Video Card or too old monitor that has gone boom kinda like mine!

vk_dre
21-07-2002, 02:13 PM
the only possible answer right now i guess is that it is too old and has been used to much, you must have worn out the crt. sorry couldn't help much.

cheers,
v.K--------- :D

mejobloggs
21-07-2002, 04:24 PM
nah, hust got a new vidio card. geforce 2 64mb

Terry Porritt
21-07-2002, 05:34 PM
The 107s has an OnScreen Display with a colour option. Check in that you have selected 9300K. Alternatively if there is a User option wind each of the colours up to 100%.

If still dark consider spending $60 or so to get a specialist to see if the video amplifiers can be tweaked up.

mejobloggs
21-07-2002, 09:53 PM
Yikes. I was fiddling around with the screen options, and I pressed degauss.

The screen had a fit and turned off.

I restarted the computer and everything, and now its back on.

But what does degauss actually do??
And yes it is on 9300k or whatever

Billy T
21-07-2002, 10:10 PM
Degauss puts out a pulse of 50Hz electromagnetic field from coils around the CRT to demagnetise it. This gets rid of colour blemishes.

Cutting to the chase, if the monitor is still dark on another computer and you have checked all the obvious settings then it is probably faulty.
Try taking it to a TV repair shop for a quote as they often repair monitors. After all, in practical terms a monitor is just a TV without the signal circuits.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

mejobloggs
22-07-2002, 04:56 PM
ah well. It would probably be better for me to get a new monitor

RayTheTech
24-07-2002, 06:04 PM
Suggest you try your local TV repair place - it MAY be economic to fix, and is pretty certain to be a fault in the monitor.
BUT check out their minimum charge beforehand, in case it does turn to custard

RayTheTech