PDA

View Full Version : nz p2p system



sal 
15-07-2002, 04:51 PM
just incase u guys didnt know, there is a new new zealand based p2p service. u can read more about it and get the client software at p2p.net.nz (http://www.p2p.net.nz)

-=JM=-
15-07-2002, 06:44 PM
3.50TB being shared at the moment ;)

Colpol
16-07-2002, 10:42 AM
Got the software. I like the idea of a NZ net.
Installed it but in spite of trying the suggestions in the FAQ I dont get any results. Not even sure if it is working?? Maybe I am just not holding my mouth right
Any suggestions welcome
P.s. Have checked parent site.

nzStan
16-07-2002, 12:23 PM
Nice. Just installed it a few minutes, very easy, even behind my firewall.

-=JM=-
16-07-2002, 06:45 PM
I recommed using DC++ (http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net) as opposed to the plain Direct Connect. DC++ is smaller as well.

The HUB that you want to connect to is dc.p2p.net.nz[/url]

It runs on port 411 (or there abouts). You may also need to do [i]pinholing with a DSL router for it to work well.

*Sparky*
17-07-2002, 12:28 AM
Its a little beauty.

Thanx. Been looking for an alternative since Audiogalaxy closed.

:)

Chris Wilson
17-07-2002, 12:48 AM
yay!
i can share my 1280 obscure files again!

there seems to be a bit of outgoing traffic allready... must work well then!

Chris Wilson
17-07-2002, 12:51 AM
i dont seem to be able to find anything i want though, where does one find the international servers?

-=JM=-
17-07-2002, 12:53 AM
It's also impossible for an international user to connect. So you jetstart people can feel free as you won't be giving away your spare gigabytes.

-=JM=-
17-07-2002, 01:00 AM
you can get international servers by clicking on the public hubs button or similar.

Most hubs have limits as to connection types and amount you are sharing.

Also remember that dc.p2p.net.nz is blocked off from international traffic so that it won't affect your international usage.

but someone still needs to get it here in the first place.

Chris Wilson
17-07-2002, 01:05 AM
is one of you logged in as geek4life?????

-=JM=-
17-07-2002, 01:34 AM
> is one of you logged in as geek4life?????

that depends. Is someone logged in as pugwash

Chris Wilson
17-07-2002, 01:43 AM
No my dog is sitting on the chair beside me, she has no interest in the computer tonight.

Colpol
17-07-2002, 09:43 AM
Heeeelp
Have everything set as recommended. i.e correct hub and port. Have tried passive and active and still nothing happens. It seems to find the hub ok (Zone alarm shows that it is connected) and the hub shows in the server box but any search I do produces nothing. My modem indicates no activity at all. I have set ZA to act as server. (Running ME)
Any help would be greatly appreciated
P.S. What do you mean by pinholing

Chris Wilson
17-07-2002, 10:01 AM
Colpol
it must work, -=JM=- was getting stuff of me last night
OK what server or hub are you connected to? there should be a list of atleast one in the favourate hubs box thingy, click on that to connect.
this flew strait past ZA, with only the standard "do you want to let this prog............" dialog, it should work for you, it might take a little experementing.

Colpol
17-07-2002, 10:22 AM
Thank you Chris:)
"Click on that to connect" did the trick. Simple huh.
Once again thank you :D

Baldy
17-07-2002, 11:20 AM
I see I have to enter IP address. Where do I find that

Colpol
17-07-2002, 11:46 AM
You dont 'need' to enter an ip address. Mine is working without one. some ISPs assign a different one each time you log on so it changes each time

Baldy
17-07-2002, 01:14 PM
OKEDOKE....... thought you might, as I can't get it to work :-(

BALDY

Chris Wilson
17-07-2002, 01:22 PM
Baldy,

try entering dc.p2p.net.nz as the server/hub address

Baldy
17-07-2002, 01:46 PM
YAHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ! This is awsome so far. Does anyone know if you can get it to work on a iMac? My friend would be extatic if it did

Regards, BALDY

Colpol
17-07-2002, 01:48 PM
Use the chat feature and ask some of those already using it.

Chris Wilson
17-07-2002, 01:51 PM
Baldy,

they say on thier site that they dont make it for linux... mac isn't even mentioned.....
so unless your friend with an imac has a windows emulater thingy, i think its a dead cause.

Baldy
17-07-2002, 02:46 PM
Thanks guys...... Now I know what a kid in a candy shop feels like

Regards, BALDY

-=JM=-
17-07-2002, 05:08 PM
there is a linux version

Sam H
17-07-2002, 09:23 PM
This is great, very stable download speeds, bloody excellent thanks so much for the link sal.

Regards
Sam

sal 
19-07-2002, 01:59 AM
no prob, and by the way, im not very far from where you live, im over in te puke, ;\

nzporscheboy
19-07-2002, 10:47 AM
Damn....cant start straight away....have to download winzip, and log on as Admin to install

Brendon ;/

-=JM=-
19-07-2002, 05:07 PM
If you downloaded the DC++ (http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net) client it does not need installing. Just unzipping and the files just work.

kiwibeat
22-07-2002, 11:30 AM
Thanks for the info I was using kazza lite and it was eating thru my 10 gig allocation for international traffic, a nz hub enables me to share as well as D/load which is all good .

Chris Wilson
22-07-2002, 05:36 PM
This program is great, i managed to upload 380meg in the last 24hrs, thats more than i could share with AG!

Chris Wilson
22-07-2002, 05:40 PM
Can anyone tell me if there is someone on the Orcon hub who has a good collection of Kiwiana, apart from myself?

Sam H
22-07-2002, 06:19 PM
What other hubs are there apart from dc.p2p.net.nz ????

-=JM=-
22-07-2002, 06:37 PM
There are heaps of other hubs worldwide.

But only really the one in NZ.