PDA

View Full Version : Settings for proxy server on home network

Warren
15-07-2002, 11:34 AM
Hi All
I am running 2 machines with Win 98 se and they are networked using a crossover cable.We have just gone on to jetstream starter and have a Alcatel Speed touch internal modem.I would like to turn a computer into a gateway for the other pc and i would like to know what settings to use for my network and for the gateway on our internet connected pc.I'm pretty new to networks and would like any advice i can get.
I'm trying to take the cheap option here but if this doesn't work will have to go to a router in the future(when i can afford it ).
But would like to try this in the meanwhile .
Cheers

CYaBro
15-07-2002, 01:05 PM
Installing Internet Connection Sharing from Add/Remove Programs should get it all up and running for you.

Try that and let us know how you get on.

Warren
16-07-2002, 10:42 AM
Ok will do
Last time i tried that with the dial up modem it froze this PC when ever i started the other one .
I might have my settings stuffed up and the network settings might be clashing with my internet settings .
I followed a faq on here for setting up a network and used the standard IP addresses for the network ie 192.168.0.1 for this machine and 192.168.0.2 for the other with a submask of 255.255.255.0
What i need is someone to walk me through the settings.
i don't mind paying for toll calls as long as i get this thing set up.
Cheers

Craig Bellhouse
16-07-2002, 02:31 PM
You have a few options:
You can try the internet connection sharing, but I have never had success with this with a win98 server.

You can download a proxy server from the internet and try to set it up, but this usually results in the use of only some protocols. I managed to get access to HTTP only, and shaky access to email.

If you have a little money to spend, and one of your computers has decent capabilities, a better choice is to get windowsXP, as it has pretty good network sharing abilities.

Jester