PDA

View Full Version : The Entertainer (New Computer)



ntddevsys
13-07-2002, 02:46 PM
Hi,
I am about to get a prebuilt custom computer made and i need advice on my hardware and software choices and where to get it from , all at the same time. I'm not looking for a real bargin something resonable. I am going to do a bit of multimedia. Any ideas . Any help would be appreicated

My Specs Are
AMD Athlon 1600+ Processor
384 mb DDR 333 Ram
2x Seagate Barracuda IV 40gb Hard Drives
Pionner 16 x DVD Drive (Power DVD)
Asus 40 x 12 x 48 (Nero)

Leadtek Geforce 4 MX440 64mb Card w/TV Out
Pinnacle Systems PCTV Pro
Creative SB Audigy Digital Entertainment
56K V90 Modem
10/100 Ethernet NIC

Thrustmaster Fox 2 Joystick
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical USB Mouse
Microsoft Internet Keyboard Pro USB
Philips 107T Mointor
Plantronics HS1 Headset
Creative Inspire 2.1 Slim 2600 Speakers
Asus A7V333 Motherboard
(Not sure about case , any advice)

Software

Microsoft Windows XP Professonial
Microsoft Office XP Stataned w/ Frontpage and Publisher
Adobe Photoshop Elements
Powerquest Partition Magic
Roxio Goback Deluxe
Sim Golf
Flight Simulator 2002 Pro
Hit Man
Ulead Video Studio 6
Cakewalk Home Studio 2002
Sonic Foundry ACID Music

Thanks

NTDDEVSYS

DeSade
13-07-2002, 02:53 PM
I strongly suggest you ditch the GeForce MX card for a Ti, yes its a little more pricy but the difference really is staggering performance wise.

Oh and I think logitech keyboard and mouse are much better than the Microsoft ones also.

As for a case, well that depends on how much you want to spend, for a middle of the range case I suggest anything with at least a 300 watt powersupply and perhaps look for one with 2 fans to aid in the cooling, those new amds can get pretty hot.

Other than this your system is solid

ntddevsys
13-07-2002, 02:59 PM
Great , will think about doing that. Any other ideas anyone

Arlonian
13-07-2002, 04:03 PM
I'm not sure about performance-wise, but price wise it looks like an 80gb hard drive is better value for money than two fourties.

Just a thought.

ntddevsys
13-07-2002, 04:42 PM
Great,
Just two 40gb drives are faster and better for multimedia

Thanks

NTD DEV SYS

Tom B.
13-07-2002, 05:01 PM
For Flight Sim 2002 Pro you really do need a flight yoke and pedals rather than a joystick - much better control and more authentic. Go to www.chproducts.com and look at their range.

tweak\'e
13-07-2002, 05:59 PM
> Great,
> Just two 40gb drives are faster and better for
> multimedia
>
> Thanks
>
> NTD DEV SYS

assumeing that you have a raid card or mobo has onboard raid of course.

Sam H
13-07-2002, 06:09 PM
I would definitely go for an Athlon 2000 or failing that an Athlon 1800.

tweak\'e
13-07-2002, 06:09 PM
if you can get a 19" monitor (mayby use aa cheaper keyboard??)

vid card is proberly ok unless you want to play the latest games(not sure about flight sim)

i wouldn't bother with partion magic, there's free apps that can do the partitioning.

case- aopen hq08 as good drive bay setup. or h600a.

power supply a least 350watt

get a decent heatsink.

rounded cables ? you may need these if you get a tower case.

ntddevsys
13-07-2002, 06:31 PM
All the advice is great , keep it coming .

Sam H
13-07-2002, 06:43 PM
If you can afford the monthly payments then go with an external ADSL Modem, It comes in very handy when watching streaming video, downloading trailers and playing online games.

ntddevsys
13-07-2002, 06:45 PM
I have telstra cable sam ,i already had it so i didn't write it in

Sam H
13-07-2002, 07:05 PM
OK thats cool.

Baldy
13-07-2002, 07:29 PM
For speakers, I would suggest you listen to some TDK Tremor S150's. They defineately have that WOW factor

Regards, BALDY :-)

-=JM=-
13-07-2002, 08:35 PM
> > Great,
> > Just two 40gb drives are faster and better for
> > multimedia
> >
> > Thanks
> >
> > NTD DEV SYS
>
> assumeing that you have a raid card or mobo has
> onboard raid of course.

the barracuda IV's are not good in raid. They tend to slow down.

tweak\'e
13-07-2002, 09:31 PM
> the barracuda IV's are not good in raid. They tend to
> slow down.


strange ?:|

i hadn't heard that one and i can't see why unless it it has an incompatability with certain raid controllers. do u know which controllers its been tested with.

i like the Western Digitals myself.

ntddevsys
14-07-2002, 11:32 AM
I'm not going to use RAID it is quicker if applications are on one drive and data is on another

ntddevsys
14-07-2002, 11:38 AM
Can anyone tell me about Asus's Q-Fan Technology. How does it work etc

tweak\'e
14-07-2002, 12:36 PM
> I'm not going to use RAID it is quicker if
> applications are on one drive and data is on another

can you explain that one to me.?:|

if you have two drives each on its own ide channel (ie both set to master) it will be quicker than one single drive but still no where near as fast as RAID 0 is.

boom23
14-07-2002, 01:17 PM
taken from asus

Quiet and Efficient Fan Operation
ASUS Q-Fan™ intelligently adjusts CPU fan speeds according to system loading. The result is maximum fan power when you need it most and quiet operation when you don't.
__________________________________________________ _____

like tweak said, RAID is far better than normal setup and ofcourse it's way faster. But if you're not gonna use RAID then get drives that have low seek time and go with 7200rpm drives.

As for the case, get a mid or full tower case. Depending on your needs really. Icute ones are pretty good.

ntddevsys
14-07-2002, 04:28 PM
How do you contal Asus Q-Fan , what does it control

ntddevsys
14-07-2002, 05:59 PM
I have decided that this system will have the Asus Q-Fan connected to a Thermaltake Volcano 7. A Crystal Orb VGA Card Cooler on Graphics Card. A Thermaltake A1357 Smart Case Fan II as an Input fan in front of case and output fan at rear of case. A Enermax 350 Watt Power Supply with Adjustable Fan Controller. A Thermaltake Hardcano II Hard Disk Cooler w/ 2 Channel LCD Temp Mointor (Channel 1 does and Channel 2 does) and a Asus IPanel Deluxe. Any ideas , any feedback

Thanks

NTDDEVSYS

tweak\'e
14-07-2002, 06:24 PM
if the volcano is the one with the vairable speed fan you won't be able to use the asus q-fan. use a standard fan.

case fans depends on cases big time. with a good case hardrive coolers are not really needed.

*Sparky*
15-07-2002, 01:57 AM
Or you could try this:

http://www.g-news.ch/articles/nhp200nc/

]:)