PDA

View Full Version : I'm unattached... any suggestions?



Joe90
12-07-2002, 09:13 PM
Well, it wasn't a problem- but it's getting to be!. I can't send attachments (ie jpegs etc) from e-mail client Outlook Express V5+ with Win XP pro with Intel 56k V92 Ham modem. I can download anything with no problem, but if I try to send I just get the little outbasket saying 'sending' and the 'flashing' computer icon in the tray indicating something is happening... but nothing is. This what I've tried so far:

Phoned Paradise, they suggested that their servers don't support V92... no other suggestions.

Unset 'Break apart messages larger than XXkb'

Turned off ALL firewalls and antivirus

Tried zipping files

Tried another mail prog (pegasus)

Tried reinstalling Outlook

Tried diff phone line (I have two)

Haven't tried:

new drivers (update says I have latest)

new ISP (very tempted after dealing with their 'support')

I have Jetream at the office, so have been sticking files on Cd, but have now bought new Fuji S602 digicam (and I'm in love), so it's getting frustrating... any suggestions will make me look like one of those smiley faces again

Mike
13-07-2002, 08:38 AM
> Well, it wasn't a problem- but it's getting to be!. I
> can't send attachments (ie jpegs etc) from e-mail
> client Outlook Express V5+ with Win XP pro with Intel
> 56k V92 Ham modem. I can download anything with no
> problem, but if I try to send I just get the little
> outbasket saying 'sending' and the 'flashing'
> computer icon in the tray indicating something is
> happening... but nothing is. This what I've tried so
> far:
>
> Phoned Paradise, they suggested that their servers
> don't support V92... no other suggestions.
>
> Unset 'Break apart messages larger than XXkb'
>
> Turned off ALL firewalls and antivirus
>
> Tried zipping files
>
> Tried another mail prog (pegasus)
>
> Tried reinstalling Outlook
>
> Tried diff phone line (I have two)
>
> Haven't tried:
>
> new drivers (update says I have latest)
>
> new ISP (very tempted after dealing with their
> 'support')
>
> I have Jetream at the office, so have been sticking
> files on Cd, but have now bought new Fuji S602
> digicam (and I'm in love), so it's getting
> frustrating... any suggestions will make me look like
> one of those smiley faces again

Joe,

How long are you waiting for your emails to be sent? When they have attachments they can take considerably longer than normal to send (depending on what you're sending - how big it is).

Another problem could be the one Paradise suggested - that their servers don't support v92. This could very well be the problem - v92 is fairly recent technology, and has been known to cause problems when trying to communicate with servers that can't handle it. There may be a way to tell your modem to operate at v90 (perhaps check your modem's manual or something) and see if that makes any difference.

HTH

Mike.

Poppa John
13-07-2002, 01:25 PM
I am unattached as well. Looking for a rich older widow with plenty of money & no kids to leave it to !!! Naughty Poppa John ]:)

Davesdad
13-07-2002, 02:51 PM
Hi Joe90,
I had a similar problem with a Intel v92 modem connecting to paradise. I solved it by removing the check mark from "enable modem compression " in Modem configuration.
Start/ My computer/ control panel/ Network connections/ right click Dial up connection and select properties/on the general tab click configure under modem and remove the check mark.

Davesdad

Baldy
13-07-2002, 06:49 PM
Hey Poppa John,

I was going to say that LOL. Have you tried NZDating (hehehe)

Regards, BALDY

Baldy
13-07-2002, 06:50 PM
Hey Poppa John,

I was going to say that LOL. Have you tried NZDating (hehehe)

Regards, BALDY

Baldy
13-07-2002, 06:51 PM
I didn't think we could double post

Joe90
13-07-2002, 07:16 PM
Thanks for suggestions guys...

Mike- What manual?!

Poppa John- if you find one with money (and especially no kids) that is 'excess to requirements' send her on to me

Daves Dad- Compression already off, no joy there...

Baldy- or at NZ dating

Have spent a few hours searching out 'old' V90 drivers because Mike might have a point and found a site that says Intel V92 HaMs can run on V90... I am about to try it, so if you never hear from me again you know what happened!