PDA

View Full Version : Not The FAQ news



Graham L
10-07-2002, 07:31 PM
See, it can be done. This is a posting which is not Re: FAQ 42. Let's network Susan here.

Susan B
10-07-2002, 11:14 PM
OK OK, I get the message. :D

Well, Styles PC have got the following:

D-LINK 528 PCI 10Mbps RJ-45/BNC Adapter (DE-528CT) $48.00 INC GST

and

D-LINK 530TX PCI 10/100Mbps Fast Ethernet Adapter (DFE-530TX) $60.00 INC GST

That first one is the slow one, isn't it? The old 486 can't do the 10/100Mbps thing and the card the DS guy showed me had a different type of plug to the faster one.

Actually, now I come to think of it, I don't even know if there is room on the old mobo for a network card.... maybe I should pop the lid and have a look first? There's only an old scanner, which can come out if need be, so I should be OK.

Next, Ascent:

Belkin F5D5000, 10/100 Network Card, PCI $41.04

Dlink:
DFE-530TX, Ethernet Adaptor, 10/100Mbps, 100Base-TX, PCI $71.43 DFE-530TX+, Ethernet Adaptor, 10/100Mbps, 100Base-TX, PCI $59.53
DFE-538TX, Ethernet Adaptor, 10/100Mbps, 100Base-TX, PCI $66.70 DFE-550TX, Ethernet Adaptor, 10/100Mbps, 100Base-TX, PCI $85.85

Don't ask me what the difference is between that lot, except only the last two are currently in stock.

NetComm:
NP1100, Ethernet Adaptor, 10/100Mbps, PCI $53.07

NetGear:
FA311, 10/100Mbps Ethernet Adaptor, RJ45, PCI, OEM $50.92
FA311, 10/100Mbps Ethernet Adaptor, RJ45, PCI $52.35
FA312, Ethernet Adaptor, 10/100Mbps, PCI $71.00

Planet:
ENW-2400-P2T, Ethernet Adapter, 10Mbps, RJ45/BNC/STP, ISA $27.90
ENW-8300-2T, Ethernet Adapter, 10Mbps, RJ45/BNC/STP, PCI $43.03
ENW-9503, Ethernet Adapter, 10/100Mbps, RJ45, PCI $40.11

So that's two outlets compared. :D

What do I choose? I must bear in mind that when I get my new PC that will possibly have an onboard NIC so this machine will need to hook up with it easily.

tweak\'e
10-07-2002, 11:24 PM
well i just sold a netcomm 1100 ~$30

i prefer the intel myself but they r not cheap.

Susan B
10-07-2002, 11:30 PM
Hiya tweak'e! :-)

Was that a used one or new? Yeah, Intel seem to have a good name too, but it might be a bit of an overkill for what I want, won't it? Even in the new PC?

tweak\'e
10-07-2002, 11:32 PM
brand new ....replacement for a cust whose lan card got fried by lightning.

-=JM=-
11-07-2002, 12:09 AM
Netgear would be the best for the money in NZ. They use less resources and can handle higher FSBs (handy if you're overclocking). Also they don't use a Realtek chipset like the D-Link and others will.

Graham L
11-07-2002, 06:29 PM
I dunno --- I reckon I could do a good price on a 3Com or SMC 10 MHz card. Like free. I just tried to email Susan with that, but her hotmail is too damn hot --- "storage allocation exceeded". :_| Seems that my old one had that problem too, and I could not get it resurrected.:-( So now I'm on yahoo, and orcon. :D

Susan, if you're in town tomorrow morning have a look in at Smith's Auction (Montreal St, over the railway line). Best free entertainment in town. Orange Husqvarna hat will find me. Otherwise you might find me in the Library ... most afternoons.

Susan B
11-07-2002, 11:34 PM
> I dunno --- I reckon I could do a good price on a
> 3Com or SMC 10 MHz card. Like free.

Well, you can't beat that price, can you? :D That's kind of you, thank you.

> I just tried to email Susan with that, but her hotmail is too damn
> hot --- "storage allocation exceeded". :_| Seems
> that my old one had that problem too, and I could not
> get it resurrected.:-( So now I'm on yahoo, and
> orcon. :D

Strange, I've been getting emails today OK and I just sent myself one. I reckon it's your end.....

> Susan, if you're in town tomorrow morning have a look
> in at Smith's Auction (Montreal St, over the railway
> line). Best free entertainment in town. Orange
> Husqvarna hat will find me. Otherwise you might find
> me in the Library ... most afternoons.

I'm not sure if I can manage tomorrow, it's a bit awkward but I'll do my best.

Susan B
13-07-2002, 02:37 PM
Hey Graham, have you got your orange hat on? :D

Graham L
13-07-2002, 02:46 PM
Yep, I'm on the ground floor --- at the river end.

Susan B
13-07-2002, 02:47 PM
Coming down now....

Susan B
14-07-2002, 04:12 PM
For Graham L:

Right then, cards are installed (properly, I hope) but the little led lights are not lit.

Does this mean that it is because no data is being transferred?

Neither machine has yet detected the cards - I would have thought at least Win98 would have done so...

I have sent you an email with more details - I'm stuck! :-(

godfather
14-07-2002, 05:03 PM
Think you will find that the LED's only indicate when a correctly terminated and connected cable is fitted.

Susan B
14-07-2002, 09:35 PM
Oh boy, what fun that was - not!

I figured out that I had to install the network clients, etc, of course. Did that on both machines, fiddled with this and that with no joy. Wasn't too worried about it until my internet connection wouldn't work.

Still don't know what happened but although I could get online, no data would transfer. Absolutely nothing.

Uninstalled all the network protocols, did this, did that, tried everything. Hours of fiddling later had a brainwave - restore the registry; it's saved my bacon more than once.

Fortunately that did the trick. *wipes sweat from brow, tries to steady shaking hands*

Still don't know where I went wrong, but my confidence is somewhere around my boots. I don't think I'm so keen to build my own pc now. :_|

I won't admit defeat with this, but I'll have to find better instructions on setting it up before having another go - when my hands have stopped shaking, that is.

-=JM=-
14-07-2002, 09:38 PM
Still don't know what happened but although I could get online, no data would transfer. Absolutely nothing.


That would just be E3 up to it's usual tricks.

Susan B
14-07-2002, 09:45 PM
I was thinking that JM, because I did initially have trouble with password authentication, but my Actrix connection wouldn't transfer data either.

It was different to the usual stalling, etc, I got the "Page not found" immediately instead of it waiting for a response like it usually does.

Outlook Express immediately came up with a "Server not found" message as well. It was definitely my machine. :-(