PDA

View Full Version : Web Site crashing IE 5.0?



Billy T
30-06-2002, 04:32 PM
Hi Team

I run W98/IE 5.0 and it is pretty much 100% stable. I hardly ever strike problems and I spensd a lot of time on line.

I have been trying to change my details on an NZ Govt site, and this involves entering my present details (which are already recorded on the site) and clicking search to locate my file. Problem is, every time I click search, IE crashes with the error message as below:

IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
module MSHTML.DLL at 0177:01464744.
Registers:
EAX=00000000 CS=0177 EIP=01464744 EFLGS=00010246
EBX=00000001 SS=017f ESP=0058bacc EBP=0058bae8
ECX=0169bad0 DS=017f ESI=0169bad0 FS=45df
EDX=00001000 ES=017f EDI=026f4400 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
f6 40 50 80 0f 85 5e 01 00 00 ff 75 08 8b ce e8
Stack dump:
026f4400 0169bad0 00000000 00000000 00000000 01678f30 0169bad0 0058bb14 014d75ae 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00f52860 00000000 800113f5

Question is: Could this be a fault in the site programming causing the crash or should I be looking for something in my set up? I can access the site using a Win2K box running IE 5.5 and search without a crash, but it tells me my details are not found. IE 5.0 never crashes on any other action. Never not never!

Any ideas?

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Heather P
30-06-2002, 04:37 PM
This is what happens when you try to hack into the Wanganui Computer....

Actually, I'd tend to try some searches on other sites with your Win 98 machine and see if it crashes. If it remains completely stable try accessing the problem site from another machine running IE 5. This should tell you if the problem is yours or theirs.

godfather
30-06-2002, 04:40 PM
Hi Billy
The only thing that looks of interest (without debugging IE5 !! ) is the page fault.
To me it could suggest IE5 may be being asked to do something it doesnt like, which could be a site direction, given your previous stability and that you will have tested this several times at the same spot.

More likely a rogue (for IE5) bit of code?? If you post your password we could all have a play!! We would tell you how we get on, honest..

OR:

if its the Wanganui Computer you are accessing, your record could be overloading the cache...(too bany bubnch's)

Billy T
30-06-2002, 09:09 PM
Oh dear :(

I've been sprung! ]:)

There I was, discretely trying to hack Wanganui (now that must be a truly ancient edifice, probably runs on puha & steam) and now everybody knows!

On the basis of the answers received, I reckon it is rogue code at the site as I genuinely have no problems with this machine and IE version on any other site. However, if that interpretation is incorrect, I'm sure somebody will pop up and let me know why.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)