PDA

View Full Version : can i upgrade to a GF4?



thelaw
30-06-2002, 12:54 AM
Hi I am looking at getting a Gforce4 soon and was unsure if first, it would fit in my AGP slot. Currently I have a NVIDIA 8mb Vanta (AGP).

And second would it work. (I know it won’t be as fast as a new AGP slot.)

I think my AGP slot is 2x.

Thanks.
Thelaw.

Dragonslayer
30-06-2002, 01:20 AM
I can't see why it wouldn't work?, as long as it is an AGP slot you are talking about. What sort of Mobo/CPU do you have?

tweak\'e
30-06-2002, 11:14 AM
it depends on your cpu a bit if it will be worth buying a gf4 or save your money and get a gf2. you can only go as fast as the slowest componant.

kiwibeat
30-06-2002, 09:05 PM
what speed cpu are you running it may not work in a 2x agp slot I recommend you stick to a 32 meg Gforce 2 be a lot cheaper as well unless you want upgrade your whole system

tweak\'e
30-06-2002, 10:39 PM
>what speed cpu are you running it may not work in a 2x agp slot

what??? explain please! !

-=JM=-
01-07-2002, 12:07 AM
> >what speed cpu are you running it may not work in a
> 2x agp slot
>
> what??? explain please! !
>

yeah does seem rather strange didn't it

kiwibeat
02-07-2002, 06:22 PM
not if it is a agp 2x i tried to replace my vodoo 3 2000 on my old PC with a gforce 256 wont fit in the agp 2x slot .
take your graphics card to the shops and compare the number of gaps to the one you intend to buy . may be time for a total upgrade.

tweak\'e
02-07-2002, 07:05 PM
the slots are the same from agp1x up to agp8x. the only difference is if you get a pro card which needs a agp pro slot (longer slot for more voltage connections i think) there was problems with the g 256 due to the huge amount of power it consumed.

thelaw
03-07-2002, 06:38 PM
the card i am looking at is:

Gainward GeForce4 Ultra/650 XP video card, 128MB DDR, GeForce4 Ti4200, 4XAGP, TV Out, Video In, DVI, Golden Sample

it does say it supports AGP 2x/4x -- { AGP 2X/4X AGP support and easy Plug-and -play AUTORUN installation From CD-ROM include. }


and ill will be upgrading my PC when i have the cash ie 1 year.
(motherboard,CPU)

thanks.

tweak\'e
03-07-2002, 06:55 PM
there is a reason people have asked what sort of system you have. the reason being is it may be a waste of money to buy such a nice card without upgradeing cpu etc and also there is a few other things that can stop your video card from working.

thelaw
03-07-2002, 07:32 PM
ok i was going to upgrade vid card the work on other components but what would you recommend.

i have :

PIII 450
256mb ram
8mb Nvida Vanta
+ all the usual stuff

.
thanks

tweak\'e
03-07-2002, 07:41 PM
details man details !

what motherboard or importantly what power supply?

thelaw
04-07-2002, 06:21 PM
ok sorry

the pretty crappy thats why im upgradeing as i get the cash.

motherboard: EPoX EP-6VBA
power supply (i think is 200w)

tweak\'e
04-07-2002, 08:54 PM
should be ok but your power supply sounds as little small. if you are going to upgrade mobo you will need new power supply. might be a good idea to get a decent one now(new case?).

thelaw
06-07-2002, 04:54 PM
yea im looking at a new case..

ok thanks everone.


....