PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone else have a problem with AVG and Go-Back

Iris
26-06-2002, 04:11 PM
Hello,

I am running windows 98SE with AVG virus. Recently installed Go-Back and when computer restarted AVG went from it`s usual healthy blue to bright red and told me I had a virus in the boot area. If I continued the virus would be left in the computer.

Out of curiosity (and slightly panic stricken!!!!) I uninstalled Go-Back and when Computer restarted AVG was back to it`s normal blue and there was no warning message.

Has anyone else had this problem, if it is a problem. Or are the two incompatible.

Many thanks, Iris

Billy T
26-06-2002, 05:23 PM
Hi Iris

I'm no expert on this, but since nobody else has answered I thought I'd give you the dubious benefit of my opinion.

IMHO it is highly likely that Go Back installs files that AVG mistakes for viruses, especially if it alters the boot sector of your HD.

Put simply, I am 99.99999999999% certain it is not a virus and you could probably go ahead and install Go back, tell AVG to ignore the virus message and all will be sweet.

If you need more comfort than that, try searching Google for AVG + "virus alert" + "Go Back" and see what pops up, or go to Grisoft and check their FAQ. If there is nothing there, put your question to them and see what they say.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Iris
26-06-2002, 07:00 PM
Thanks Billy T for that answer.
Puts my mind at ease.
Tried your Google suggestion. Gave me a chance to use my newly installed Google Toolbar, nothing came up though.
Have sent query to AVG, more out of curiosity than anything.

Thanks once again. Did try to put some happy faces on this, but can`t get emoticons to work. Not complaining though, everything else is working nicely.

Iris

Poppa John
26-06-2002, 07:52 PM