PDA

View Full Version : Virtual Memory minumum to Low

J ZEP
21-06-2002, 02:34 PM
:) to be here but :-( cause i have a prob. Last night my partner was playing a game and went into a new mission and got the "Windows Virtual Memory Minimum to Low" message. I did a F1 search and found some info but alot of the postings had not been confirmed as working.
Anyway the V.M was set to 384mb so i changed it to 768mb ? Was this what i should have done? - i have no experience in the virtual mem area yet! I also got rid of some excess programs - will that help? I am using win XP - any help or advice on what the settings work well at would be appreciated! Thanks in advance!

mikebartnz
21-06-2002, 07:03 PM
You don't mention how much conventional memory you have . Were you getting low on hard disk space. I usually reckon that if you need more than 300MB of virtual memory you actually need more conventional memory because virtual memory is so slow.

J ZEP
21-06-2002, 08:02 PM
Mike i have 7.64 GB free on the hard disc if thats what you mean - My system is win XP have 256 MB Ram, and the hard disc is 20gig i think - is that any help ? As i said a posting came up from Sam M who's a regular here and its now a page over and sounded very similar to this but nobody replied till about the time i posted this ? Surely still having 7.64 GB free isn't low is it? Could it have anything to do with the high spec games my other half is playing as thats where the prob arose last night?
Thanks for your help.

wuppo
21-06-2002, 10:19 PM
Perhaps the word 'minimum' is important here. What is the 'initial' VM size you have set. It should be at least equal to the value 'Recommended' under the 'Total paging size for all drives' area on the VM tab.

mikebartnz
21-06-2002, 10:23 PM
I'm not too familiar with XP but more often than not you are better off letting windows handle virtual memory. Hard disk space would not have been the problem but it could pay to do a defrag.