PDA

View Full Version : Quantum and IBM Hard Drives...



18-06-2002, 09:51 PM
I have an IBM 20GB hard drive in my machine which works perfectly. Recently I tried to install an old Quantum hard drive of only 127MB. The IBM was at the end of the cable, the Quantum on the second grey connection. The IBM I set to master with slave present on the jumpers, but the quantum which had no apparent space for jumpers since it had only 3 pins where I thought they should be, I just left as is. I'd read that quantum drives needed no settings in slave position anyway. However, when I booted, the machine booted the quantum and unfortunately Windows 3.1. The larger IBM disk which contains Windows ME was not even recognised by the bios, which just listed the quantum drive set as master. I've been into the bios and tried to change its settings, but it just won't recognise the ibm drive. My second IDE cable is used by a CD-RW and CD-ROM, both of which work fine. The computer is only about 1.5 years old, and as i said, without the quantum drive present, the ibm works fine. I've tried a number of different jumper settings on the ibm, and i've never needed to use drive overlay software. Can anyone help?

19-06-2002, 11:24 AM
Hi Jonathan,
It sounds like you've got a Quantum Bigfoot or similar drive.

You need to look closer, there are jumpers on these drives. They are not next to the IDE cable plug like usual (there's only those 3 pins you mentioned)- the jumpers are on the triangle shaped circut board on the top of the drive. You need to put jumper onto SP to run as slave.

bye.

19-06-2002, 05:46 PM
Older Quantum drives had a very tiny jumper underneath on the circuit board. They had a tendency to fall off!

Look carefully, you may see where it goes. You probably wont be able to get one, they are much smaller than usual jumpers. If your drive is of this type try soldering a bridge to make the drive a slave.