PDA

View Full Version : Norton Antivirus 2002



14-06-2002, 11:12 PM
I have Norton Anitvirus 2002 installed and suddenly it keeps bringing up my dial up connection box when I start windows and shut down + other random times. I have uninstalled and reinstalled a number of times and updated and all but it keeps on happening. If I stop nortons loading thru msconfig the problem goes away and returns when i re-enable nortons on startup.Also done a full virus scan Anybody got suggestions????

14-06-2002, 11:26 PM
sounds like you have the auto update on.

15-06-2002, 12:14 AM
it is almost surely the live update feature. you can turn it off but would advise not doing so. it is a major safety feature of the utility. it usually does not activate until you have been on the net 5 to 6 mins. bring up nav 2002 control panal/options/liveupdate. suggest in addition to 'enable live update' being checked you also check option to update without interupting you. also give auto access to net if you have zonealarm. if the dialup in nortons is correctly set up you should suffer very little interuption. you can still update manually.

15-06-2002, 12:15 AM
What OS are you using? If it's XP then look at this

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q316530

I searched at Symantec and came up with this.

http://service2.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nav.nsf/b69c799adfa31ecc85256aa30052f4d0/28600badb0e0db1d88256b4c00760ad1?OpenDocument&prev=http://search.symantec.com/custom/us/techsupp/kb/query.html?*col=kb%20us*st=1*nh=10*pcode=nav*qp=ur l:us-sarc,url:us-lu,url:/nav.nsf/b69c799adfa31ecc85256aa30052f4d0*qt=%2Bnav%20%2Bst arts%20%2Bdial%20%2Bup%20%2Bconnection*miniver=nav _2002*sone=nav_2002_tasks.html*stg=3*prod=Norton%2 0AntiVirus*ver=2002%20for%20Windows%202000/NT/Me/98/XP*base=http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/nav/*next=nav_2002_contact_tscs_solve.html*svy=*taskqu ery=*boolean=and&sone=nav_2002_tasks.html&stg=3&prod=Norton%20AntiVirus&ver=2002%20for%20Windows%202000/NT/Me/98/XP&base=http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/nav/&next=nav_2002_contact_tscs_solve.html&src=sg&pcode=nav&svy=

I find Norton products are fine once installed first time. Try and reinstall
then be prepared for trouble.

sam m

15-06-2002, 06:44 PM
thanx for the tips ....Fixed the problem by updating explorer and outllok to v 6
cant understand the connection but it fixed it