PDA

View Full Version : How do I start up to prompt without loading XP?



12-06-2002, 08:23 PM
Can I use a start up disk(singular) to get to a prompt without going thru XP?

If I change hard drives or cancel installation of XP how do I get back to prompt so I can FDISK and format? Then get back to win98,FAT32.

Otherwise it gives options like safe mode with command prompt only, but it still can't load if I have changed hardware.

Any ideas

Cheers

12-06-2002, 09:30 PM
Does 98 bootdisk work?It does with win2000.

12-06-2002, 09:41 PM
Nope, put in other win98 or 95 start up disks and only get the XP safe mode options, minimum being safe mode with command prompt.

Even if hard drive is only formatted by XP, so it must be related to it being NTFS ?? even when formatted as FAT32.