PDA

View Full Version : New website - comments please

05-06-2002, 06:11 PM
Hi there I would appreciate any comments on the layout of this site. This will be my new site and I hope to be finished by August 2002.

You can view the site at
http://liquid2k.com/teachme/index.html

Note: None of the pages have been created yet except the index so dont bother clicking the links on the left hand side.

05-06-2002, 06:25 PM
Graphics and layout OK...
Pity about the spelling though.

//rant// one thing that anoys intensely is spelling mistakes on a website, it destroys credibility in the information on the site IMHO.

..excuseable on forums though...informal.

tj

05-06-2002, 06:46 PM
Looks fine to me, you picked a server with some really good default 404 pages too! Most are so dull.

I look forward to seeing the rest of the content, as you get round tuit

05-06-2002, 06:54 PM
ok ok I admit it, Im not very good at spelling words. But don't worry All spelling mistakes will be fixed by the time the site opens officially in August.

05-06-2002, 06:59 PM
I have a question for you, how does liquid2k work?
I see there is no ftp access, so i have to wonder. I'm not going to set up a trial account, so could you spill the beans please!

05-06-2002, 07:40 PM
Cool, good on ya!

If I was going to be picky (I mean criticise contstructively)I would make the following comments...

Hit counters SUCK!!

Break your text into smaller chunks (maybe use some tables)
People don't like reading big long strings of text that go across the entire page.
Always start a new sentence on a new line (Has a bit more impact & is much easier to read)

Do some serious surfing & note the pages you like looking at & which ones you find easiest on the eye.
Don't be afraid to rip off someone else's design if you like it.

Keep up the good work!! & enjoy.

05-06-2002, 07:40 PM
Hey Chris,