PDA

View Full Version : 40gb Hard Drive only showing as 32gb



03-06-2002, 07:18 PM
Hi people,

I just bought a Maxtor DX407 Ultra-ATA 133 40 gb 7200rpm hard drive. When I install it in to either of my two systems (one duron 1200 & soltek 75-DRV5) (one P4 1.8A w/ ASUS P4S333C) the bios only detects 33082 megabytes of space or approximately 32gb. I have tried another 40gb hdd in both systems and it detects the full 40020mb. ]

Is this a drive problem?

Thanks
Ashley

03-06-2002, 07:56 PM
Hi Ashley,
On my system, my OS takes up a certain percentage of my Hard Drive..... Although 8gb seems to be lot - it could have something to do with it.
When you hook up the other Hard Drive, is this with the OS installed in it, or are you running it in tandem with the other?
Regards, ALAN :-)

03-06-2002, 08:12 PM
I havent installed an OS to either of them yet. The values quoted in my abouve posts are what thwe bios is showing me.

03-06-2002, 08:37 PM
i have a 40g HD in my system that has a jumper in place that restricts it to 31.X gb. This is in place because my retard of a machine has no support for drives as big as 40g, and can only see HD's of 31.whatever or less.

I am wondering if such a jumper setting is on your drive, and if it might be in place??

03-06-2002, 08:51 PM
sounds like a possible Bios limitation. Unsure of your manufacturer, but check out this from seagate
http://www.seagate.com/support/kb/disc/bioslimit_338.html

03-06-2002, 11:32 PM
check out maxtor website and ur motherboard manufacturer website...i think u might have to flash ur bios...we had the same problem with a hdd before in my previous work...cuz of the model of the hdd...it doesnt recognize the correct capacity of it.


Jim Q.

03-06-2002, 11:50 PM
Hi Ashley, your bios obviously supports 40GB so it must be a cylinder limitation jumper fitted to the drive in either j42 or j46 depending on the drive type. Visit the Maxtor.com site and search for cylinder limitation, all the info is there.

HTH PC