PDA

View Full Version : How to get past xp



21-05-2002, 06:10 PM
Hey im a new user, the names Jeorge and I am currently running xp on my 16megs of ram. wanna know how? i found a hole.

I have 16mb of 72pin EDO ram, two 8's, and for windows 9x and most modern games it suffieces, but the awesome XP wants at least 64 so i was stuck...i couldnt update! it would tell me i didnt have enouff ram.

So i borrowed a friends two 32 sicks, put them in, installed, and then once in windows took them out. TA-DA!

I can now run XP! AWESOME!
Comments?

21-05-2002, 06:23 PM
It's very likely that your going to run into problems.

21-05-2002, 07:36 PM
Big/fast hard drive with lots of virtual memory might help.

21-05-2002, 08:07 PM
its going superfast! i clocked that takes about 5 mins to get into windows, which is good cuz ME took like 2 and xp is way better.

how do u change the start menu speed cuz it takes over a minute to popup, is this ram or xp?

21-05-2002, 08:34 PM
Hello Jeorge,
Well done on loading xp, But I think your problem with a slow menu, will be recouces.

in normal circumstances, xp loads in less than a minute, (50 seconds for me), so to get the best from xp,a mimimum of 500mhz cpu, 128mb ram, and about 2gbs of H/D

cheers,
Bob