PDA

View Full Version : Phone line network



05-04-2002, 02:58 PM
I have two computers in separate rooms both with dial up internet connections sharing the same ISP and phone line. Is it possible to network (for file sharing and printing) the two computers via the phone line? How do you call another computer on the same phone line?

05-04-2002, 05:12 PM
It should be possible --- easy even --- but not on the line that is connected to the world outside.

What you want is a 'private line'. If there is a spare pair of wires in your house (phone) wiring, you would need to connect it to an extra BT socket at each computer.

I assume that even the most modern modems have a setting called 'answer/originate'. You set one modem to answer mode, the other to originate, and both to the same fixed bit rate.

Then turn off any dialling, waiting for dial-tone, etc, and it should work with a few 'simple software settings' ;<) .


But the problem with a Telecom line is that when the modems become active (do an 'off-hook') they put a low resistance across the line. The exchange senses this and wants to get in on the act, and gives you a dial tone. That's what IT is designed to do.

05-04-2002, 06:25 PM
Bearing in mind of course that any network you create like this is only going to work at 56Kbps, or whatever speed your modems do.
A far better option is a 100Mbps LAN card in each computer (about $40 each) and some cat5 cable (about $1 per metre). That way you don't have to stuff around with modem settings, and bot computers can get on the net at the same time as printing and other file sharing stuff.

Jimbob.