PDA

View Full Version : the case of the missing RAM



09-03-2002, 11:00 PM
Hi,
I've got a comp, and at start up it counts up 32meg of ram, but in the bios and in windows it says there is only 15meg, i've looked in the bios and there seems to be nothing about memory limits or anything.
Any sugestions??
Thanx

10-03-2002, 09:18 AM
I can't figure that one out.

Unless you have two banks of 16mb installed, and one is a bit faulty, or a different sort, or maybe in the bios the settings for each of the banks is different. Set the banks to 'auto' in the bios if possible.

10-03-2002, 01:10 PM
do you know where i can set the banks to auto, i've looked everywhere in the bios and can't find anything
Thanx

10-03-2002, 03:55 PM
This is a BIOS setting. It will be in an 'advanced' page.

Look for 'Memory Hole 15-16MB', and disable it. It's used to handle some ISA boards which can't handle memory that big.

The first site telling about it found with Google ('15MB memory hole bios') was:

www.msi-computer.cz/support/techexpress/biosetup.htm

(or 'biossetup.htm'? -- I wrote it down, and can't read my writing).

10-03-2002, 04:51 PM
Thanks, i saw that in the bios, i thought it looked strange. Thanks a heap