PDA

View Full Version : SD RAM PC133mhz appears to work in socket 7 PC?



04-03-2002, 05:20 PM
I was going to help a friend upgrade their RAM I had a spare 128mb PC133 stick so I thought since there was SD RAM in there already, shouldn't be a prob. So after the change around, at start up (after successful RAM test) it says:

SD RAM CS Latency time is '3'
then IDE detection.

It would then fail (restart) at windows 98se start up?

I was looking in BIOS and the only relevant setting I could find was SDRAM bank0 = 8ns
SDRAM bank1 = 8ns
SDRAM bank2 = 8ns
The options are 8,10ns medium, fast & turbo?
ANy Ideas??
Thanks
Socket 7, AMD 2/450, was 32mb ram, I tried them in different combo's.

04-03-2002, 08:48 PM
how does it go with just the new ram? what about with just the old ram? if it doesn't work with old ram only in then check the cards, ide leads are connected properly, you may have bumped one.

04-03-2002, 09:18 PM
Yes sorry, it works with older ram(32mb) but this ain't quite up to it! Tried 128mb pc133; now I have fdisked, formatted, and run setup for win98se and it won't get to the first screen (crashed) but it works fine in dos, My guess is that pc133 is not compatible with this m/b? Anyone else?

04-03-2002, 11:24 PM
I think the problem here isn't the RAM, but your motherboard. If the RAM you're adding to is only 32mb, you may find that 32mb is the largest RAM it can take, or perhaps 64mb - usually motherboards that take 32mb are too old to be able to recognise 128mb RAM.

HTH

Mike.