View Full Version : When someone gets past the 'used by date'

20-02-2002, 12:55 PM
Someone told me that Schools should never take someone on over 40 years of
age as a student with the promise it well lead to a job at the end of the
course because the IT industry will not take on workers over 40 as they have
got to the 'used by date' Schools can however take on students to do IT
subjects as a 'hobby' class. Does anybody have any thoughts on this topic

20-02-2002, 01:14 PM
I have had to struggle to be taken seriously in the IT industry for some time by people 40 and over who run the IT industry.

I'm 26 this year and I studied as soon as I finished highschool.

I've had to work under people near and over 40 who have less experience than I do.

People near and over 40 have more in common with the people who will hire them and their age (derserved of not) will led them credability.

Either that or it's just how Rototua works.

I would be interested to know.

20-02-2002, 02:02 PM
Courses should not take on students with the PROMISE that it WILL lead to a job.

With IT related work there is also the ability to sell yourself as an asset to a business and not just a pasty geek that can only hang out in the backroom as the real world doesn't have the attractions of the cyber version.

Age should not play a part in it, more your experience that relates to the field/ position that you are aiming for.

But age will play a part if someone is trying to build a team and looking at team fit. When the majority of the positions are filled by those 25 years and below this is a disadvantage to someone older entering the industry.

I think 'used by date' is a misleading term to be using. Its a case of more where a new worker will fit into the structure of the company with the skill base that he or she brings.

20-02-2002, 03:14 PM