PDA

View Full Version : MS Flight Sim 2002 Mimimum Specs



12-02-2002, 09:45 PM
Forget what Microsoft outlines as the minimum specs to run Flight Sim 2002. What do some of you flight simmers find is the acceptable minimum spec for this programme.

I am currently running FS2000 on a PIII 450 with 256MB of RAM and a 3dfx Voodoo3 2000 16MB graphics card and am considering whether that will suffice if I upgrade to FS2002.

I look forward to your replies.

13-02-2002, 12:36 AM
Hi,

I have seen FS2002 running on a PC almost Identical to yours, but the Graphics board was a 16MB TNT Vanta, and only 128MB. It looked pretty crap from where I was standing, but I have impecable standards for games. After the system was upgraded to 384MB RAM, and a GF2 MX 400 64, perfomance improved incredibly... I'd say at present your video card would be hitting it's straps with FS2002, but upgrading it to a GF2 of some kind would put you in good stead for some chunky textures and a good frame rate.

:)

the FAT man

13-02-2002, 02:58 PM
Hi Rolly.

I am running FS 2002 Professional on an Athlon 1.2 with 512 of ram and a GeForce 2 with 32M ram. I don't think you need to go that far but 2002 goes better the more you have. To get smoothness you need everything on the hard drive. That will need 1990M of space. You can reduce that by only loading the World scenery you want. The requirements have increased greatly with each new edition of FS. I would suggest you upgrade your graphics and give it a go - it is a big improvement on 2000.

Tom B.

13-02-2002, 11:13 PM
Thanks for your feedback, it was most helpful. I probably will upgrade the graphics card at some stage plus more RAM and see how that works out.