PDA

View Full Version : Winfax10 - no carrier signal



12-02-2002, 07:06 PM
Winfax10Pro. If I leave the tick in the Detect Dial Tone, it fails to connect. Remove the tick from the Detect Dial Tone, the program and modem appears to talk but then you get the message, Cannot Send, No Carrier Signal.
I have checked all the connections, all appear ok but when you pick up the phone, there is no noise from the modem, just a standard dial tone.
The Winfax program uses a external 28k modem for sending, separate to that is a internal DSL modem for the net. They have worked fine side by side till now.
System is WinME.

Any idea's for No Carrier Signal or anything else to check.

12-02-2002, 07:29 PM
Gordon,

Symantec have an excellent FAQ on WinFax PRO 10, surf over and take a look.

http://www.symantec.com/techsupp/winfax/winfax10_tasks.html

Do you realise that the modem has to be installed in WinFax PRO, it won't just recognise the modem, because it is installed in Windows.

13-02-2002, 10:08 PM
KO, thanks for that, located what I needed from the site and have followed it to the letter but no joy, looks like a modem fault more than anything now as the computer and the modem talk to each other but then the modem fails to detect a dial tone.
Tried in on different computer to dial up a internet connection, same result.
Oh well, better luck next time. Thanks