PDA

View Full Version : server domains...



09-02-2002, 04:32 PM
hey there everyone,
I'm setting up a Linux distribution called SME Server 5.1, which is basically a server OS for sharing the net over a network, plus web hosting, etc.

I have read the help file, and it mentions that during setup you have to enter your domain - what do I enter? This is a home network I am working on, and currently my computer is responsible for sharing the net, but as soon as I can, I'll be switching it over to this new computer.

Specifically, it says 'As shown below, your next step is to enter the primary domain name that will be associated with your SME Server V5 with ServiceLink.'

In the graphic below, it says 'Please enter the primary domain name for your server. Although you can also add virtual domains later on using the web-based server manager, you must specify a 'real' domain to use as a default.'

Am I right in assuming I either continue without entering a domain, or enter any 'real' (ie: fake) name I like?

Thanks alot,
Jonathan Giles

09-02-2002, 06:00 PM
There are 3 ranges of addresses that are assigned for internal networks (ie used no where on the web thus no clashes). Any of the 3 ranges work on a home network

Class A 10.0.0.0 to 10.255.255.255.255

Class B 172.16.0.0 to 172.31.255.255

Class C 192.168.0.0 to 192.168.255.255

At home I use Class C addresses - my computer is set to 192.168.0.1, my husband's to 192.168.0.2 etc

If you pick your own address outside these ranges you run the risk of conflicting with an Internet site.

Any of the 3 ranges are fine, pick one and stick to it.

09-02-2002, 06:06 PM
Ok, sorry, that wasn't actually my question - I obviously wasn't clear enough.

My internal network will be fine using it's current IP's (192.160.0.#), but during the setup of this server OS I'm getting, it asks for my domain, giving the example of 'tofu-dog.com'. Do I need a URL such as this? or can I fake it or something??

Thanks alot,
Jonathan giles