PDA

View Full Version : Freeze up during shut down



22-01-2002, 10:42 AM
If I access Internet invariable when I try to shut down the sequence commences and then freezez on the Microsoft display
'MICROSOFT WINDOWS 98--Windows is shutting down'

I subsequently have to 'Reset'
and afterwards I can close down normally.
This problem has persisted thorugh IE5.5 to IE6

22-01-2002, 11:25 AM
How long have you left it sitting there before losing patience and pressing reset?

Sometimes it hasnt actually locked, just takes a month of sundays to shutdown, but once its worked its way through it once the problem often just gracefully departs.

Othertimes it doesnt and thats when you start threatening it ;-)

22-01-2002, 12:35 PM
Try this.
press [ctrl] [alt] [delete]

in the list there should be no more than Explorer (the shell)
Systray (well um...)
and Rundll (that little blue thing in your systray that you use for changing colours and resolution)

If there is anything else then highlight and end task.

Some programmes hide in the background and don't get the hint that you want to shutdown.

22-01-2002, 01:06 PM
Bill

See my reply to SP (right below your post) for further ideas on shutdown failures.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

22-01-2002, 05:00 PM
There is another diagnostic test you can carry out to see if a program is not shutting down properly, find the startup log file, bootlog.prv. Its a hidden file in in the C:drive root folder.
So first of all, if you havent got hidden files showing, double click My Computer, go View - Folder Options - View, and check Show All Files.

Open bootlog.prv with Notepad.
Towards the bottom should be entries Terminate=Win32, and EndTerminate=Win32.
If the EndTerminate=Win32 is missing, it means a program is not shutting down properly.

Use the other posted suggestions ie msconfig, or ctrl-alt del to progressively find out which program is causing the problem.

22-01-2002, 05:40 PM
Ihave left the computer run for up to 15 minutes in the frozen shut down mode before pushing the Reset Button.
I have Norton utilities running but it is not indicating a problem

Bill

22-01-2002, 05:40 PM
Ihave left the computer run for up to 15 minutes in the frozen shut down mode before pushing the Reset Button.
I have Norton utilities running but it is not indicating a problem

Bill

22-01-2002, 06:12 PM
Gerard.
Ctrl.+ Alt + delete
does not function during shut down freeze.
I run norton Utilities whic has not reacted to a fault.
A printout Internet summary is as follows.

DNS Servers Disabled
Primary Wins Server DHCP
Secondary ' ' DHCP
REMOTE ACCESS SERVER CONNECTIONS
Default Version 2, 32 bit Wind
ows Sockets
Description Winsock 2.0
Min. Version 1.0
Max. Version 2.2
System Status Running
Filename C:\Windows\System\W2_32.Dll

DEFAULT 32 BIT WINDOWS SOCKETS
Description Microsoft wsocks32.dll,Ver. 2.2 32 bit
System Status On Win95
Filename C:\Windows\System\ ws2-.Dll

For the 16 bit section all answers are Winsock DLL could not be loaded

22-01-2002, 06:12 PM
Gerard.
Ctrl.+ Alt + delete
does not function during shut down freeze.
I run norton Utilities whic has not reacted to a fault.
A printout Internet summary is as follows.

DNS Servers Disabled
Primary Wins Server DHCP
Secondary ' ' DHCP
REMOTE ACCESS SERVER CONNECTIONS
Default Version 2, 32 bit Wind
ows Sockets
Description Winsock 2.0
Min. Version 1.0
Max. Version 2.2
System Status Running
Filename C:\Windows\System\W2_32.Dll

DEFAULT 32 BIT WINDOWS SOCKETS
Description Microsoft wsocks32.dll,Ver. 2.2 32 bit
System Status On Win95
Filename C:\Windows\System\ ws2-.Dll

For the 16 bit section all answers are Winsock DLL could not be loaded

23-01-2002, 01:45 AM
Hi Frank.

It appears from a few posts up that others are having shutdown problems too. Are you using Zone Alarm and AdsOff together?

Cheers.

23-01-2002, 01:45 AM
Hi Frank.

It appears from a few posts up that others are having shutdown problems too. Are you using Zone Alarm and AdsOff together?

Cheers.

23-01-2002, 09:26 AM
I am using Zone Alarm. I have no knowledge of AdsOff.
Norton Utilities have signified that Internet Explorer is crashing but I have not been able to get details

23-01-2002, 09:26 AM
I am using Zone Alarm. I have no knowledge of AdsOff.
Norton Utilities have signified that Internet Explorer is crashing but I have not been able to get details

23-01-2002, 02:52 PM
Terry,
BootLog.prv.
I have accessed. The last three on the list in the below sequence are
Terminate = win32
End Terminate = win32
End Terminate = Kernel.

Crash Guard comes up with the following

IExplorer.exe
Windows 98 version 4.10.2222
Details IExplorer.exe crashed
To date Crash Guard has recorded 58 fatal errors with the program .....c

23-01-2002, 02:52 PM
Terry,
BootLog.prv.
I have accessed. The last three on the list in the below sequence are
Terminate = win32
End Terminate = win32
End Terminate = Kernel.

Crash Guard comes up with the following

IExplorer.exe
Windows 98 version 4.10.2222
Details IExplorer.exe crashed
To date Crash Guard has recorded 58 fatal errors with the program .....c

23-01-2002, 09:14 PM
...here is a list of Microsoft Knowledge Base articles that relate to Win98 freezing or hanging at shutdown.

[source: Google search]

Good luck!!!

e_

http://www.google.com/search?num=100&hl=en&lr=lang_en&q=%22Win98%22+%2B+%22Shutdown%22+%2B+%22hangs%22+% 2B+KB+site%3Amicrosoft.com&btnG=Google+Search

24-01-2002, 03:32 AM
dump crash guard it causes more problems than its worth I use goback and that is a good program